We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #84 of 133 Restaurants in Aylesbury
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: It is part of the sizzling pub chain, not sure who owns the brand but was impressed with the food and service
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Have had several meals here. They have very good deals during the year and not too expensive. The food is always very nice, hot and exactly what you ask for, especially the steaks. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Excellent value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deadre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    41
    18
    18
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“nice food”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We ate mid afternoon on a Saturday, the main courses were very nice, not fine dining, but very enjoyable. Deserts are something I usually avoid as they are always overpriced. However their prices aren't too bad so we all had sundaes, which were lovely. The pub was quite busy, kept tidy, and not waiting long to be served.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely food at reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Have visited here several times, most recently 11th January 2014, always find good quality food at reasonable prices and steaks always comes cooked as requested, although steak skillets and knives look like they have been through the dishwasher a million times and in need of replacement, the plough is probably the most favourable of pricing in Aylesbury out of all the chains £5.99 for a burger and £7.99 for a 9oz rump, drinks are also keenly priced but we did find we were not charged the price advertised on the inhouse poster's, even with the overcharging its still reasonable and we will be back

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wirley1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A good value, family friendly restaurant”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We had a meal here today, for 6 adults and 3 children and had a brilliant time.

The food was all fresh and hot and excellent value, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the facilities were clean.

I've eaten here over the years a d have always liked it but todays meal was truly great! 9 very happy customers, thank you!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A very nice weekday lunch”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I have lived in Aylesbury for 2 years and today is the second time I have been here since I first moved to the area. The first time I visited Tbe Plough, my meal had clearly been microwaved and was worst than a frozen ready meal from the supermarket. BUT, to be fair to the Owners, they had just taken over and were openly asking for feedback on the usual menu to see where they could improve. I was unimpressed with the food but the price was good for drinks and who really cares after a few pints? It was busy and had a good atmosphere. I went back today and was VERY pleasantly surprised. I had a chicken curry and my Husband had a steak combo. Both delicious and cheap (only £20 including a beer and soft drink). The landlady was as friendly and attentive as that first visit 2 years ago and it's clear to see that she has made a difference! My curry was good but the steak looked DELISH. On par with Harvester at half the price.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing