We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taken for a ride !”

Buckinghamshire Railway Centre
Ranked #2 of 30 things to do in Aylesbury
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Taken for a ride !”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

My wife and i paid £48 for our 2 year old son to see Thomas & Santa,
The website and leaflets make out it's a fantastic ride on Thomas when all you do is go backwards and forwards along the same stretch of track for about 100yds half a dozen times.
The engine itself is really good and the whole walking onto the platform with the fat controller my son loved but that i'm affraid is where it ends.
Wouldn't go again !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank BigDaddy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    71
    21
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not good value for money”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We went for the Thomas and Santa day today (2 children 7 and 4) and thought it very expensive for what it was. The website and leaflets made it sound so much better than it actually was! Firstly the train ride itself was a huge disappointment as it is a very short track which the train went back and forth on 5 times. Santa literally popped in for a visit but he was neither particularly friendly or authentic. The miniature railway was terrible - I don;t know if the usual one was not working as the leaflet said you would go past characters but in actual fact it was a train which only seated one family at a time (imagine the queues!!) and went back and forth 50 yards twice. The "craft" activities were literally colouring sheets I could have printed off the web myself. The magician's show was laughably terrible - I have no idea where they dug him or his equipment up from but they really should be buried again. Refreshments and face painting were the only decent points of the day but for £65 I expected a lot more! Maybe our children were older than the target audience? Maybe our expectations are too high?

I do not often give such terrible reviews but we have been left disappointed and out of pocket and I think it is only fair to let others know.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Julesprice73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“A Day out with Thomas”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

A Day Out With Thomas at the Buckinghamshire Railway Centre proved to be a great choice. My wife and I took two of our grandchildren aged 2 and 4 on a crisp, bright December day to the centre and we all enjoyed it very much. The total cost for the four of us was £58 and you do get a lot for your money. The whole museum was decked out in festive gear with plenty of things for the children and interesting exhibits for adults. A 1939 Castle class locomotive, The Defiant previously used for express travel between Birmingham and the West Country takes pride of place. There is also a first class, later Royal Dining coach built in Wolverton in 1901 of fantastic quality and originally used on the London Euston to Liverpool express service.

For the children there was a free magic show, cartoons, badge making and face painting. There is a very good gift shop and café where you can get hot drinks and meals. On the day we went there were free sausage rolls, mince pies, Kit Kats for the children plus fruit drinks and hot mulled wine for the adults.

Sir Topham Hatt, the Fat Controller was on hand to pose for photos with everyone and sign your own Thomas certificate. There are plenty of helpful and friendly staff to guide you and they are all volunteers. Our ride on the splendid Thomas train was really fun especially when Santa and his elves came through the carriages distributing gift to all the children. A smaller steam train runs along side the Santa train with a large reindeer and sleigh in tow and the driver waving to anyone who waves.

We found this attraction to be good value for money with plenty of items included in the price and would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“standard”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

some interesting bits, good events for children but a bit pricey and a nightmare to get to without a car.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Live nearby and the 'railway children' really work so hard there to make an excellent experience. Can't rate it too highly - especially if you have children (of all ages!)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank GaynorLacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buckinghamshire Railway Centre also viewed

Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 
Waddesdon, Aylesbury Vale
Aylesbury, Aylesbury Vale
 

Been to Buckinghamshire Railway Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing