We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I thought it would be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Aylesbury
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Stayed here as my regular hotel - The Holiday Inn on the other side of town, was full and there was not much left locally available. I had heard bad things about this place so wasn't expecting a lot.
The good - friendly staff, large clean room, a good night sleep, freshly cooked breakfast, cheap. The bad - the 'restaurant'/'bar' needs a complete refurb it's embarrassing, the barman needs lessons in customer service and the rooms could do with a refresh, especially the bathrooms.
This could be a decent little hotel, it would be better suited to be a Holiday Inn Express after a refurb and with the bar/restaurant extended and renovated.

Probably a 3.5 stars, needs more TLC for 4 stars.

Room Tip: I would imagine that first floor rooms at the far end are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuneatonmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C M, General Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear nuneatonmark,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Garden Court Aylesbury.
Please accept my sincere apologies that our restaurant/bar ambience fell bellow your expectations and for the inconvenience this may have caused you.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

We value you as our guest and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards
Carlos Maio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 300 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2014

I booked a couple of nights at this hotel for me and my girlfriend to celebrate my birthday. we stayed in room 113, the room was very big nicely decorated and had everything we needed in it including a flat screen tv, comfy pillows, bath/shower and a sofa! we ordered room service from the bar snacks menu (omelette, chips & salad) which was really nice and my girlfriend had forgotten a few everyday essentials but the receptionists on duty over the couple of days help or even gave us everything we needed! brilliant service and I will 100% be staying again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aylad955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C M, General Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear aylad955,

Thank you for your recent review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Garden Court Aylesbury.
It sounds as thought you really enjoyed your stay.It is with valuable feedback such as yours that we feel that our hard work is really appreciated.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,
Carlos Maio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We ended up staying 10 days at this hotel, arranged through our insurance company due to a flood at our house. We had room 110 which was a large corner room with everything we needed. The hotel is slightly dated but exceptionally clean and the room was serviced everyday.
The breakfast was excellent and a there was always an excellent selection. We did not have the evening meals at the hotel but the choice looked good.
The staff were friendly and always smiled (special mention to Connie who is lovely). Although I live local I would recommend this hotel to my family and friends

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vep168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C M, Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear vep168,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review of your stay at the Holiday Inn Garden Court Aylesbury. I am really very happy that you enjoyed your stay so much that you have recommended us. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff specially Connie to improve the quality of service even more.
We hope to welcome you or your friends and family back again for another fantastic stay with us in the future.

Kind regards
Carlos Maio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Hotel is dated and grubby the room was like something from the 80s the bed was hard and uncomfortable, the room was freezing cold due to draftee windows we had to leave the heating on all night which meant we dad no sleep due to noise. The bathroom was dirty and dark, The so called restaurant was a collection of tables in a small room, there was no vegetarian option and my partner was advised to have tomatoes on toast. the quality of the food overall was of very poor quality. In fact the only warm aria of the whole hotel was reception where the staff congregated.
In all I would never stop at this so called Hotel and would advise anyone else to sleep in bus stop opposite for the quality.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C M, General Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear AnthonyH,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention regarding your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. We sincerely apologise for the problems you have encountered particulary with bedroom and our vegetarian menu options.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Once again, I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.
We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Kind regards
Carlos Maio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

The room was reminiscent of the 1980s - tiny tv (no free Sky Sports unlike some other Holiday Inns), crazed plastic basin in the bathroom, poor lighting and uncomfortable pillows.

Free internet is pretty much useless, and the "restaurant" looks like a transport café (or that might be doing a dis-service to transport cafes).The menu is also smaller than your local fish and chip shop.

Breakfast was ok, but the evening meal menu of five main courses looked like something cobbled together that could be cooked quickly and nothing fancy.

Desperately needs upgrading if it wants to retain business - until it does, it won't get mine again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear wroughtironron,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Booked in for 2 nights, had to move room after the first, discovered the bedroom wall was covered with mildew and the room felt damp. The entire hotel is rapidly approaching end of life and desperately needs a refurb.

I second the comments about the restaurant, couldn't believe the room and was surprised when the restaurant staff said they could order a meal in from a take-away menu.

Won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor, the damp doesn't appear to have risen that far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear TryfanD,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Not the freshest of hotels, but the staff were very friendly, the room (20) was big and clean with sofa, table etc and it was quiet.….that's all I ask for....the bar looked a bit B&B, but as I didn't eat or drink in it I can't comment!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank The_Canal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear The_Canal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Aylesbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#9 of 12 in Aylesbury
789 reviews
5 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge- Aylesbury South Weston Turville
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
4.3 mi away
West Lodge Hotel
West Lodge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aston Clinton
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury

Address: Best Western Garden Court 45 Buckingham Road | Watermead, Aylesbury HP19 9PT, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range: $72 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, a conveniently located 40 bedroom hotel in a suburban location within easy reach of the M25, A41, M1 and M40 for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel is within easy reach of an abundance of historic sights including Waddesdon Manor, Hartwell House and Blenheim Palace with places of interest such as Silverstone Race Circuit, Whipsnade Zoo and the Roald Dahl Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Hotel Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing