We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rubbish”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Aylesbury
Reviewed February 24, 2014

The Hotel is dated and grubby the room was like something from the 80s the bed was hard and uncomfortable, the room was freezing cold due to draftee windows we had to leave the heating on all night which meant we dad no sleep due to noise. The bathroom was dirty and dark, The so called restaurant was a collection of tables in a small room, there was no vegetarian option and my partner was advised to have tomatoes on toast. the quality of the food overall was of very poor quality. In fact the only warm aria of the whole hotel was reception where the staff congregated.
In all I would never stop at this so called Hotel and would advise anyone else to sleep in bus stop opposite for the quality.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C M, General Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear AnthonyH,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention regarding your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. We sincerely apologise for the problems you have encountered particulary with bedroom and our vegetarian menu options.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, and the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.
Once again, I would like to sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay.
We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Kind regards
Carlos Maio
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 288 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

The room was reminiscent of the 1980s - tiny tv (no free Sky Sports unlike some other Holiday Inns), crazed plastic basin in the bathroom, poor lighting and uncomfortable pillows.

Free internet is pretty much useless, and the "restaurant" looks like a transport café (or that might be doing a dis-service to transport cafes).The menu is also smaller than your local fish and chip shop.

Breakfast was ok, but the evening meal menu of five main courses looked like something cobbled together that could be cooked quickly and nothing fancy.

Desperately needs upgrading if it wants to retain business - until it does, it won't get mine again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wroughtironron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Dear wroughtironron,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room layout prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Booked in for 2 nights, had to move room after the first, discovered the bedroom wall was covered with mildew and the room felt damp. The entire hotel is rapidly approaching end of life and desperately needs a refurb.

I second the comments about the restaurant, couldn't believe the room and was surprised when the restaurant staff said they could order a meal in from a take-away menu.

Won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 1st floor, the damp doesn't appear to have risen that far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear TryfanD,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Not the freshest of hotels, but the staff were very friendly, the room (20) was big and clean with sofa, table etc and it was quiet.….that's all I ask for....the bar looked a bit B&B, but as I didn't eat or drink in it I can't comment!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank The_Canal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Dear The_Canal,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Your patronage and support to the hotel is very important to us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip mid November 2013. The hotel itself is a bit tired but the staff offer a warm welcome. The bar/restaurant has to be seen to be believed ... reminiscent of someone's front room (complete with 70s bar) it lacks atmosphere and space. The food on offer is very limited but on positive side it was reasonably priced.

The hotel internet (provided by Swisscom) was incredibly unreliable.

As a platinum member I did get a good welcome and the option of 500 points or a free drink but this hotel sadly lacks the Holiday Inn feel and it's about time that IHG looked at this brand.

OK if you are looking for a bed for the night. Clean and tidy but nothing to write home about.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank CurlyEric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear CurlyEric,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you found our rooms clean and apologize for the inconvenience the internet may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked this Holiday Inn for a one night stay with girlfriend as going to a concert in the town. We found all ok for price which seems to vary in accordance to how far in advance you book. In short what you see is what you get and room was on chilly side but comfortable and bar/restaurant reminded us of TV series crossroads, so in need of serious update. Receptionist was charming and helpful and if had wanted could have used gym/pool which in a separate building a couple of minutes away.
Our only grip was breakfast, which was twice the price you would expect to pay for the same food which was not even adequate in terms of quality or quantity and for this better to go down the road for a fry up. So for a one night stay good value if booked in advance and leave out breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Richard P,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for the staff. On the other hand, I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the breakfast selections. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

As a Platinum Priority Club member, I've stayed at most of the IHG brands over the years, but I can't recall staying at a Garden Court property in the UK before. I'm not really sure where they fit in the bigger scheme of things or what their unique proposition is, but this hotel seemed to offer a basic level of accommodation and with friendly service. I believe there is only one category of room here, so there was no scope for my usual upgrade, though I did receive a voucher for the now customary 500 bonus points.

My room was basic with - unusually - all free-standing furniture, which did look dated. It was a large room though. The high wall-mounted heater was OK. Seemed to work well at 25c (maybe too well), but if you turned it down to 24c, it seemed to go off for a long time.

The curtain could have been wider, as it barely stretched beyond the sides of the window space.

I was disappointed to see that there was only ONE usable power socket. Given the modern day traveller usually carries a number of devices with them, unless you were prepared to unplug the fridge (aka empty mini bar) or TV, then you were stuck.

The bathroom was a good size, though needed updating. It was even missing the now standard IHG Group curved shower rail. The hot water was scalding and the water pressure very strong. It appeared that my room had its own hot water boiler. It was sometimes difficult to regulate the temperature through the shower, so parents might be well advised to supervise young children. The heated towel rail (which is controlled manually) was set close to the floor and it was easy to brush against this, which I unfortunately did, resulting in a small scalding. Again, families might want to ensure the rail is turned off.

The "restaurant/bar"/breakfast room is tiny. I counted about 12 tables (for a hotel with c. 40 rooms). The cold buffet was laid out on a table in front of the bar and for the hot English breakfast choices, they took your order and cooked this for you. This did mean the portion sizes were their choice not yours, though for those on a diet, that might not be such a bad thing.

As I'm relocating to the area, I will no doubt stay here again - and at their sister Holiday Inn Aylesbury.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Dear BritTraveller68,

We certainly appreciate your feedback about your stay and thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member. Please accept my apologies if this visit was not 100% satisfactory due to the condition of the room and if the restaurant ambiance was not completely to your liking. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aylesbury
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
#11 of 16 in Aylesbury
767 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Aylesbury Hotel
5.0 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
9.6 mi away
De Vere Horwood Estate
De Vere Horwood Estate
#1 of 1 in Little Horwood
1,435 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury

Address: Best Western Garden Court 45 Buckingham Road | Watermead, Aylesbury HP19 9PT, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Aylesbury
Price Range: $62 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Garden Court Aylesbury, a conveniently located 40 bedroom hotel in a suburban location within easy reach of the M25, A41, M1 and M40 for business and leisure travelers alike. The hotel is within easy reach of an abundance of historic sights including Waddesdon Manor, Hartwell House and Blenheim Palace with places of interest such as Silverstone Race Circuit, Whipsnade Zoo and the Roald Dahl Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Garden Court Aylesbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Garden Court Hotel Aylesbury
Holiday Inn Aylesbury
Aylesbury Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing