We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful house to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
9 Princes Buildings
Ranked #7 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful house to stay”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Thankyou to Simon and Joanna for sharing their magnificent home with guests.
We stayed there last weekend , Fri and sat nights.
The house overlooks the Avon, with fantastic views to the rear over the gorge, and you can see the Clifton Suspension Bridge.( worth walking over and back,amazing engineering feat , even now )
Antique furniture throughout, lots of extras provided in the rooms ( eg, sherry and cashew nuts, homemade cake , tea, coffee ) Comfy beds, lovely linen and huge white towels !
Good breakfasts, everything you could ask for , and very helpful tips of where to go in Bristol, where to eat locally etc. Clifton is the "must see" part of Bristol.
We had a great couple of days and I can recommend this as the perfect stay whatever the time of year.

Room Tip: Rear rooms will have views over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emu15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    8
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
45
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Fabulous B&B, full of charm and character, with great location in the heart of Clifton, just next to the suspension bridge and close to the centre of Bristol, spatious rooms with picturesque views, delicious breakfast and a jolly good owner. All in all, splendid! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny_Weather77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We loved our stay-a beautiful room in this delightful house, an amazing view of the bridge, river and countryside from our bedroom, superb breakfast, complimentary sherry and cake! I do prefer en suite but our private bathroom was very well-appointed-and huge. The surrounding area is very attractive and the city centre is easily accessible. One of the best guest houses I've been to.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all very comfortable-the view from ours, at the rear, was a great pleasure, an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank val s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

My mother and I shared a twin room and bathroom. The room was very comfortable and had a wonderful picture window overlooking the walled garden. Our bathroom was huge, probably larger than my living room. Everything was clean and well presented. The location was very central, but the B & B was quiet and parking easy. The owner was very friendly and welcoming. We spent the evening at the Clifton Sausage which was a 5 minute walk, which I would highly recommend. Breakfast was very good and there was plenty of choice. We will definitely return - thank you for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam6548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Last minute trip to Bristol and welcomed by the friendly hosts and comfortable top floor room with outstanding view of the suspension bridge. 5 minute walk to all the restaurants and shops in Clifton and even a glass of sherry in the room! Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aly55a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

9 Princes Buildings is a delightful home from home experience in grand style. Very friendly hosts, comfortable room and excellent breakfasts. A parking space was kept for us immediately outside the front door (important during Balloon Fiesta Weekend) and welcome glass of sherry provided in our room. Although we were not visiting to see the balloons, we had a tremendous view of them taking off just after dawn over the Clifton/Avon Gorge. The loud-hailer and helicopter at the same time wasn't ideal though! This is definitely the place to stay if ever we have an excuse to return to the Bristol area.

Room Tip: Grand view from the second floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill and Rupert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed here for a family wedding. The owners could not be more caring and helpful. Superb breakfasts with good strong coffee. The shower was less hazardous than most to someone like myself who prefers a bath.

Room Tip: The higher floor of your room the more you can see of the gorge, but the further you would have to f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 370Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.0 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,518 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Princes Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Princes Buildings

Property: 9 Princes Buildings
Address: 9 Princes_ Buildings | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
9 Princes Buildings Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing