We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“10 out of 10!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 9 Princes Buildings

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
9 Princes Buildings
Ranked #7 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“10 out of 10!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for one night at 9 Princes Buildings, enjoying a very friendly welcome and were shown to our lovely room on the top floor. We had a fantastic view of the river and gardens and the room was very clean and fresh. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was great too. In the morning we enjoyed a fantastic breakfast, we really couldn't fault it and would highly recommend this B and B, great value for money and great people.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimG741
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    7
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
43
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely comfortable, elegant, friendly B&B in a superb location in Clifton village with views over Clifton suspension bridge and the Avon Gorge. Take an evening stroll into Clifton with so many fabulous restaurants to choose from, and then amble back taking a walk over the suspension bridge with its fantastic views. Retire to your spacious bedroom with very comfortable bed and a view over the Gorge and sleep like a top. Awake for one of the best breakfasts you will ever have in a hotel or B&B. Simon knows how to look after you. Why would you want to stay anywhere else in this terrific city.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mjjaegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My friends and I stayed here for a couple of nights for a wedding. We'd booked a twin room and a double. The double was on the 2nd floor and had lovely views of the river and a large ensuite. The twin was on the basement, and was more of suite than a room as we had our own stair well and separate huge bathroom! It initially smelt a little musty when we first arrived but this was easily sorted out by opening the sash window that looked out into the beautifully kept garden. On arrival, we found two glasses of sherry, some peanuts and slices of cake to go with the selection of teas and coffee which were also available. There were plenty of supplies in the bathroom as well. Breakfast was good with fruit salad and cereal available to start, followed by a cooked breakfast out of a choice of three: smoked salmon and scrambled eggs; full english or american pancakes with bacon and maple syrup, plus a plentiful supply of toast. The owners had good knowledge of the local area and recommended a nice pizza restaurant nearby. Location was good- parking can be tricky but we saw at least two weddings in the large hotel two doors down which may explain things! We were walking distance to the main clifton village shopping area where you can find restarants, bars, pubs and coffee shops. Lovely stay overall!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WhichHotelToday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here for a wedding in Bristol and from the moment we stepped through the door we were made to feel welcome. We were a earlier than we had advised so were shown through to a beautiful drawing room for refreshments as our room was prepared. We had a room on the top floor and the views across the gorge were breathtaking, and the sherry and nuts were a great touch. In the morning the breakfast was fantastic. All-in-all a wonderful place to stay which we will be happily recommending to others.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have breath-taking views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimOstle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Wonderful B&B overlooking the Clifton Suspension Bridge. Warm welcoming glass of sherry and cashew nuts. Great hosts and very comfortable room and ensuite facilities with everything you need.Try the Primrose Cafe in Clifton Village for dinner - great atmosphere

Room Tip: Ask for Ginny's Room which has a great view of the gorge
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Charming B&B, perfectly situated for exploring the best parts of Bristol. Stayed in one of the upper rooms with a view out over the garden/Avon Gorge. Very close to the Clifton Suspension Bridge and next door to a pretty convenient pub that overlooks the bridge. Owners are very attentive and friendly. Breakfast was top rate. Great place!

Room Tip: The lower floors overlook the garden (which is beautiful) but I prefer a higher up room for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here, we had the basement room with a nice view of the beautiful garden and huge bathroom. The room was a good size and had everything we needed, along with a glass of sherry, nuts and a delicious slice of cake. Although the decor is beautifully old fashioned, the bedding was good quality and so comfortable. There is no traffic noise and the shutters kept out the light, which ensured a great nights sleep. The breakfast was two courses and a wide selection - all very delicious and served in the gorgeous dining room.
There are really good shops, restaurants and pubs locally, we were so pleased with the excellent surroundings. We walked into Bristol town fairly easily and caught the bus back, which stops a short way from the B&B. We chose to eat locally both nights and appreciated the recommendations from Joanna and Simon.
I would recommend this as a really good B&B to stay when in Bristol.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.0 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#25 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
0.4 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#27 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#29 of 37 in Bristol
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#6 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Princes Buildings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Princes Buildings

Property: 9 Princes Buildings
Address: 9 Princes_ Buildings | Clifton, Bristol BS8 4LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
9 Princes Buildings Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing