We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal atmosphere with great food”

The Clifton Sausage Bristol
Ranked #68 of 1,592 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $69
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At the Clifton Sausage, our aim is to show that when British food is done well, it can compete with the best food in the world for taste and satisfaction. Situated in the heart of Clifton Village and furnished with pine tables, candles, warm yellow and sky blue walls, comfort and 'a touch of class' is found in the surroundings as well as the food and service. Browse through the menus, take a look at upcoming events and book your table today.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Informal atmosphere with great food”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Clifton Sausage is a nice informal restaurant and bar that serves...sausages and lots of different types of them! The food is good, hearty food and you can tell that the produce is fresh. The bar is also really nice and chilled and the drinks selection impressive.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spanner75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    207
    59
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You won't feel hungry after”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Finally got the girlfriend to go to the "Sausage" and as the name suggest both chose a Toad in the Hole with Champ with the red cabbage and apple side dish.

Food great and portions as well. Don't expect Haute Cuisine, the name says it all - they serve sausages (amongst other things) that are well prepared, clearly well sourced and the restaurant is decorated to match.

Service was great we had a really friendly waitress wearing a chic 50's head scarf and although busy she always came to our table at precisely the right time.

£35 for two including Olives, Main courses, side dish and drinks excluding the tip.

There is a bar area with a good selection of Lagers / Beers but equally this is around the corner from the tables so you won't be disturbed by drinkers.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattperks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Visited on a Saturday night as part of a party, had soup and duck.
Soup was butternut squash which was bland and Duck was a few pieces of pink duck breast which turned up luke warm, smokey mash just tasted odd and didnt really work, someone who was sat opposite me had the same but more veg than my 2 sprouts, they had carrots as well obviously they must have ran out when they got to my portion I didnt bother with desert.
Decor was wooden tables and a bit cold.
Wouldnt go there again

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RealityCheck2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fine, but nothing special”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We've eaten here a couple of times, and both times the food has been okay, the beer is good. I think the problem is it doesn't know whether it wants to be a pub or a restaurant and kind of falls between the two. Atmosphere is more like a pub, price point is more like a restaurant. There's nothing wrong with this place, but nothing to get too fired up about either.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boycie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Robust”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Clifton Sausage should promise fantastic sausages what I can say it delivers robust food in robust décor. Met by a cacophony of Saturday night noise at this “British” restaurant in suburban Clifton village in Bristol. Friendly staff with small bar and attentive barkeeper. Sausage rolls served with English mustard as a snack.

The staff kept us informed about our table and we had arrived early and sat down 20 minutes late but there was complementary chips and sour cream whilst we waited.

The noise in the restaurant was like a meat cleaver between my ears and it was amplified by the almost brutal décor of painted floor, wooden seats and no window dressings. The sound reverberated around the room with no place to hide and I found it unpleasant, I don’t want to shout to my fellow dinners to be understood.

The menu is quite extensive with sausage of course. I selected the Clifton, which is the most popular served “toad in the hole” style with gravy. The sausages were hard maybe because the meat content was high or the cooking method. The sauce lacked favour and the champ potatoes were just warm. A disappointment

Good espresso coffee, iced water was free and the bill acceptable.

Summary a noisy loud restaurant with good service. Room for improvement and making their own sausages instead could be a start. Would I go back unfortunately not.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mybrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clifton Sausage Bristol also viewed

 

Been to The Clifton Sausage Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing