We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long cold wait, poor food, poorly tummy, too much wine!”
Review of Assilah Bistro

Assilah Bistro
Ranked #91 of 1,592 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a family run authentic moroccan bistro on the wells road between totterdown and knowle. Established 14 years ago we operate on a B.Y.O basis allowing the customer to bring the tipple of their choice. We use traditional moroccan recipes from tagines to meshwi and relax in the moroccan bedouin seating or the more traditional bistro seating. We can cater for large groups and belly dancing can be arranged. So come and enjoy a taste of morocco in Bristol. AS WITH ALL TRADITIONAL MOROCCAN RECIPES TAGINES DO TAKE A WHILE TO COOK SO WE WOULD NOT BE CONSIDERED FAST FOOD. We now offer breakfast and brunch on selected days
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Long cold wait, poor food, poorly tummy, too much wine!”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went to this venue a couple of weeks back. It's taken me that long to get over it! Booked at 7.30pm and served main at 10.15pm. By this time had drunk enough byo wine to not care! We were sat by the door on a freezing cold night, food was poor, staff lovely, but nothing really could make this experience anything but dire! Was sick when I got home and then had tummy cramps all the next day, Top restaurant? Not on my nelly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank JH1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    87
    21
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great local restaurant”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Fantastic little place with friendly service and great food. BYO alcohol for a small corkage fee, only slight complaint is that the menu isn't HUGE (though the food quality is good) - recommend booking a table on the weekends

Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A local gem”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I live in south Bristol and have been to Assilah on many occasions, each time being a great experience. The simple menu is very tasty and good value, and the atmosphere relaxed, friendly and welcoming. Not for those in a hurry, but great to spend an evening eating, drinking and soaking up the Moroccan vibe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The most friendly restaurant in Bristol!”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have just had a meal at Assilah Bistro as a birthday celebration and was delighted to have one of the best evenings out we have ever had. The owner Bridget was so friendly and accomodating, treating us like guests in her own home! She took the time to discuss her trips to Morocco and took an interest in us. The restaurant is beautifully decorated in moroccan style and one of the other diners started spontaneous belly dancing to the moroccan music, prompting the production of scarves lined with coins and a fez for my husband! The food was wonderful, we had stuffed vine leaves and falafels to start followed by tagines and cous cous. It was all full of flavour, well cooked and generous in portions. We brought our own wine as the restaurant is BYO, no problem if you forget as there is a handy co-op just down the road a bit. Loved the mint tea and baklava to finish, and if you feel like it Bridget will get out the hubbly bubbly too if your happy to sit outside. Love this restaurant and will be back again soon :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Thankyou for a great evening ,we had a fantastic night,food was 100 percent fab and atmosphere was great and we were looked after so well by all the staff ,if you have not been here you need to visit worth every penny and more we loved it and so did the group I was with very tasty food and very full ,beautiful meal the lamb fell of the bone . You must go and experience this divine bistro . Well done to all Thankyou what a great night unforgettable we will be back very soon

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Assilah Bistro also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Assilah Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing