We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City pub with history ”
Review of The Ostrich

The Ostrich
Ranked #143 of 202 Quick Bites in Bristol
Cuisines: British
Description: Perched on the edge of the historic Bristol harbourside, The Ostrich sits proud with its large pub garden and stunning interior to match. Enjoy traditional British pub classics from its dining menu, or Americana style street food from the iconic airstream parked out front. Pair award-winning beers perfectly with small plates or explore the extensive rum menu, a nod to its roots as a dock-side inn where sailors, merchants and dock-workers once drank. OPENING TIMES Mon – Sat: 11.00am – 11.00pm Sun: 12.00pm – 10.00pm FOOD SERVICE TIMES Mon – Sat: 12.00pm – 9.00pm Sun: 12.00pm – 9.00pm
Restaurant details
Description: Perched on the edge of the historic Bristol harbourside, The Ostrich sits proud with its large pub garden and stunning interior to match. Enjoy traditional British pub classics from its dining menu, or Americana style street food from the iconic airstream parked out front. Pair award-winning beers perfectly with small plates or explore the extensive rum menu, a nod to its roots as a dock-side inn where sailors, merchants and dock-workers once drank. OPENING TIMES Mon – Sat: 11.00am – 11.00pm Sun: 12.00pm – 10.00pm FOOD SERVICE TIMES Mon – Sat: 12.00pm – 9.00pm Sun: 12.00pm – 9.00pm
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

Was very pleasant sitting in the pub's reconfigured outside area, which is dockside. However, if you are after food go somewhere else. My 3 stars are for the location, the beer and the friendly bar staff.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank BobHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 18 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2019

Arrived at the Ostrich around 8.30pm on a Wednesday ordered drinks, chips and a burger. Asked after 40 minutes what's happening. 5 more minutes promised, waited 15 minutes, still no food so got our the money back (which was easy).

I have no problem with a delay on food if we're told before ordering to be given the chance to go elsewhere.

Told several times chef was busy, not sure what with, no one was eating near us.

Won't be visiting again, preferred the prices and menu pre the recent refit.

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2019 via mobile

Always been pretty crummy but a great location, popped in as I could see some money had been spent outside... sadly the fundamental issues of it becoming a good pub have not been addressed therefore it remains crap! A real shame...

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank Alex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Even on a rainy Bank Holiday Sunday, we found a warm welcome at the Ostrich. I hadn’t visited before the revamp, but would love to go back for a meal in the outside space. There are jolly deckchairs (some suitable for 2, if you’re slim & agile!), umbrellas and a caravan burger bar, right on the waterfront. The staff were warm and helpful, the downstairs area was very dog friendly (free dog treats!) and the burgers were the best we’ve had in a long time.

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MummyJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2019 via mobile

Nice to see the makeover that Butcomb have carried out. This pub need help for ages. The outside seating is good with some innovative features. My partner’s beer however was off and a second pint was given, not a great start to our time there. Did no-one check the lines before service started? Also, why would bar staff clean the brass on the pumps with Brasso at 12.45hrs. The smell was offensive as we waited for our drinks.

This venue will be good in the summer for all customers.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank LadyJenniferAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ostrich also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Ostrich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing