We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BRILLIANT FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ahmeds Curry Cafe

Ahmeds Curry Cafe
Ranked #835 of 1,565 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European, Bangladeshi
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
bristol
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT FOOD”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Went here on a party from work, there was 8 of us the staff coped great with the pressure of a large party, food was lovely and plentiful, drinks not too overpriced,would recommend going here for a curry when in a group or as a couple.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nikita s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    11
    9
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very mediocre”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

Very mediocre curry house, definitely lots better in the area meaning I probably wouldn't order here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James-H1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst takeaway ever! - Long black hairs in my food!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

I've bee going here for years but its slowly been getting worse and worse. When I got our takeaway home I found a huge clump of black hairs in my food!!

It males me sick thinking of how I could have eaten that! (picture uploaded of some of them)!!

If you're not fussed about the thought of hair in your food then eat here... otherwise try one of the many other good takeaways in bristol.

Beauty of living in a city is I'll never have to eat there again!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bristol2london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I'm not a lover of challengingly hot curries so, for me, Indian food needs to be tasty by way of how interestingly and skilfully it's spiced. Unfortunately, we both felt that the food we had at Ahmed's Curry Cafe was just bland, nothing to excite the taste buds at all.

It's a nice enough litte place and the menu's good, but we shan't return. There are several alternative Indian restaurants in Bristol that offer a far more interesting dining experience at much the same prices.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulianStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“By far the best indian take away in Bristol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I ordered a take away through 'Just-Eat' from Ahmed's this week (Nov) for my house, and it was easily the best Indian food I've had since I moved to Bristol 2 years ago. I am a huge curry fan, but I've tried a number of places in the city and happen to think the overall quality of Bristolian curry houses is poor at best, so this was a real change from the bland and unadventurous norm.

6 of us ate 6 different meals and starters (I had a mix of Bengal Chicken and Methi chicken for mains, both £6.95, with mixed starter/onion bhaji, £3.95 - see photo), and all of us were very impressed with our meals. The basics were done well; rice was flavoursome and cooked well, we found that you can easily share one portion between two, and naan breads were incredibly light yet still tasty - much better than the stodgy creations that can often turn up from other (more popular!) places. The more unusual exotic menu options were thoroughly refreshing and exciting; their 'world curries' and 'specials' selections were excellent, and catered for both beginners and curry lovers alike.

I can't yet comment on the actual restaurant as I haven't been, but having tried the food, it won't be long until I pay them a visit! The food turned up 15 minutes before just-eat had predicted, and the delivery man gave us a voucher for £4 off our next take away, so speaking from my own experience, their service was excellent.

Thoroughly recommended!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ahmeds Curry Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Ahmeds Curry Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing