We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food & excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Juniper Restaurant - CLOSED

Juniper Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $65
Cuisines: French, European, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: From the moment you step inside our Bristol restaurant our dedicated team will ensure that you feel at home by providing impeccable and attentive service with a selection of dishes for everyone. Juniper is about celebrating with partners, friends and family in a relaxed and cosy dining environment. Head chef Nick Kleiner takes his inspiration from contemporary eclectic menus that specialise in balancing bold and fresh flavours. Using well-sourced seasonal produce is also vital to Nick and he strongly believes in supporting local food suppliers regularly. Since we opened over twelve years ago in the heart of the Cotham / Kingsdown, our restaurant has been continuously recognised in the Bristol food world. For two years running now we are award winning, holding an AA Rosette.
Pisa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food & excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was in this restaurant with my girlfriend, redeeming a coupon for a taster menu. We were impressed by the variety of the proposed courses, a mix of different cooking styles, yet with very balanced flavors. The presentation was perfect, and eveything was really excellent. Not mentioning the almost perfect and courteous service and the very nicely decorated venue.
We agreed that the place is definitely worth coming back and go for a proper 'a la carte' dinner.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margolis73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    82
    40
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food coupled with Great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Came to Bristol for the first time and me and a friend were taking another two friends out for dinner.
WIth our first choice of restaurant closed on a Monday night, we were told about Juniper and after only a quick glance on the menu we decided to give it a go.
Unfortunately we were 30 mins late and almost missed the kitchen which closes at 9pm. Despite this, the lovely Kate did not rush us and was extremely helpful and polite throughout the evening.
There wasn't a single course that didn't sound delicious so we decided to all order different dishes and tried some of each.
My only suggestion to the restaurant would be to invest in some better cutlery, wine glasses and cloth napkins, although this certainly didn't affect our experience. This is because I consider that the only difference between Juniper and some of the best restaurants I've been to as the food & service were both fantastic.
I'll definitely come back next time I'm in Bristol.
Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent taster menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hi
Purchased a Groupon voucher for their six course taster menu. The food was excellent. Only one thing negative to say they shouldn't add service charge to the bill when there's just two dinners, (completely understand for large groups), as it's discretionary let me decide

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Been here 4 times already and have never been disappointed by the food!

The taster menu we had was more filling than expected and really satied our pallettes.

Our waitress Katie was very attentive, engaged in a conversation with us and described all the dishes.

We're definitely gonna make a comeback soon!

Helpful?
Thank Opossumosprosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food and good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the restaurant for a mid week meal and had a lovely time. The food was excellent with good size portions, excellent value for the £17 for 2 courses that we paid (although when the bill originally came the offer had not been included and we had to ask).

The restaurant itself was lovely and although the waiter was friendly he was on his own and not overly attentive - however, the food came fairly quickly so it ended up working out well as it bought us a bit more time before courses.

I would definitely recommend the restaurant and am already looking forward to returning.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juniper Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing