We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great work Xmas meal”
Review of Juniper Restaurant - CLOSED

Juniper Restaurant
Price range: $30 - $65
Cuisines: European, French, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: From the moment you step inside our Bristol restaurant our dedicated team will ensure that you feel at home by providing impeccable and attentive service with a selection of dishes for everyone. Juniper is about celebrating with partners, friends and family in a relaxed and cosy dining environment. Head chef Nick Kleiner takes his inspiration from contemporary eclectic menus that specialise in balancing bold and fresh flavours. Using well-sourced seasonal produce is also vital to Nick and he strongly believes in supporting local food suppliers regularly. Since we opened over twelve years ago in the heart of the Cotham / Kingsdown, our restaurant has been continuously recognised in the Bristol food world. For two years running now we are award winning, holding an AA Rosette.
Bristol
Level Contributor
142 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great work Xmas meal”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We decided to go here based on the reputation. The Christmas meal did not let us down. We had 20+ people and the service was good, food was very nice, hot and fresh.

The price was good for 3 courses.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    82
    40
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“The Best in Bristol”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Fed up of paying £30- £50 per head in pretentious restaurants with snooty service and where the food isn't really much better than a Tesco finest ready meal? Then head to Juniper where there is actually a proper chef who can cook much better than you, or Tesco. The food is fantastic - actually worth going out for, with decent portions and reasonable prices. Bristol restaurants have been dull and overpriced for years - all style (of a sort) and no substance - so why go to them when there's Juniper? There is simply nowhere is Bristol that comes close on value, quality and reliability.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BristolPog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Smashing”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We enjoyed this establishment many years ago (Formerly Bistro 21), for our first Wedding Anniversary. We have returned over the years and recently celebrated our 25th Anniversary at Junipers. It is a shame we havent retruned more often! The atmosphere is intimate, the food excellent. During every visit (whether as a couple or in a group with friends) the standards of food and service cannot be faulted. I do not eat meat, but do enjoy fish. There was absolutely no issue with me asking for a particular dish, with a change of sauce/dressing, very flexible and accommodating.
Following our latest dining experience, we have received a few emails with special promotion offers. The offers are incredible good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nearly Perfect.........”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I visited with a group of friends to take advantage of Juniper's Christmas deal of three courses for £22.95. I love the ambience of Juniper and on this visit they had decorated the restaurant all Christmassy, we even had crackers on the table. The menu provided a wide variety of choices, but I chose the veal and gnocchi for my starter and the beef for main. Both were cooked to perfection. Our waitress was very attentive at this point however after she took our order for our desserts we waited half a hour for them to arrive. Now ordinarily this would not be a problem as we were happy enough chatting away however it took the same waitress to come to us and ask we would like coffees after our dessert for her to realise that we hadn't had our desserts. She quickly left to look and came back very apologetic saying that our original order had been lost. The restaurant wasn't busy at this point so I'm not sure how this could be, however when our desserts did arrive they didn't disappoint. Apart from our wait for our desserts I really did enjoy my visit to Juniper and wouldn't hesitate to visit again.

Helpful?
Thank 3008robs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went in a party of four as part of a voucher deal- 5 Courses & a glass of wine for £47 per couple! What an abosolute bargain. We've eaten here on numerous occassions and the restaurant never fails, in terms of; service, quality and overall dining experience.
The atmosphere is great for either intimate or a group party, with the staff being both helpful and friendly. I've eaten out extensively and paid considerably more for meals nowhere near this standard, quality and explosive taste! The crab cakes and goats cheese on brioch were excellent together with lamb and beef for mains. The deserts were fantastic; sticky toffee pud and creme brulee.
My only small gripe, was that 10% (discretionary) service charge was calculated on the full meal charge before the discounted rate, which was £23 for our party of four. Albeit, we thought it still good value.
In summary, would I recommend Juniper- always! Can't wait for the next visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimmyB50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juniper Restaurant also viewed

Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing