We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We always have great food and service from oh Calcutta!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oh! Calcutta!

Oh! Calcutta!
Ranked #186 of 1,552 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We always have great food and service from oh Calcutta!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We ways have great food and great service at oh Calcutta. The lady hostess is ways very welcoming and helpful. They are also great for takeaways. We strongly advise visiting oh Calcutta!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chutts10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    97
    18
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good reputation is justified. Not disappointed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Good Indian, came well recommended. Good food and very chilled out atmosphere, proprietor was very friendly too. Indian music added to atmosphere, made it feel more authentic. Not disappointed.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rockapewright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty food and funky decor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had a good experience at Oh Calcutta. Found the restaurant on Vouchercloud.com app (25% off), booked the restaurant and our table was ready with a few minutes notice, on a Friday night. You can take your own booze or they do sell alcohol. The food is tasty and good size portions, and you can take any left-overs home as takeout. The ambience is relaxed and the decor is red and funky, some of the serving staff are quiet and polite, and the boss is an enterprising character, worth a visit!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndyWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Highly recommended for those seeking a casual dinner spot on Gloucester Road. Fun atmosphere with helpful staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sasaari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant service, pleasant food, great value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Went to 'oh Calcutta' on a whim, was lured by the bring your own alcohol (Friday night with friends)! We were welcomed and directed to a table even though we didn't book and it was crowded. The waiter was very friendly and kindly recommended dishes upon ordering.

We were served our mains within - short time after ordering (not too quickly, or too much of a wait)! The food was pleasant and I would recommend it as a Friday night meal. Although, this is not the best curry I have had and could be improved. It was tasty and non oily, although it was a curry that offered no surprises and everything I anticipated.

If you are looking for the best 'extra mile' curry then this isn't the place for you. If you are after a tasty Friday night meal whilst enjoying a drink with friends then I highly recommend it!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oh! Calcutta! also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Oh! Calcutta!? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing