We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely food, catered well for special diets.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bordeaux Quay

Bordeaux Quay
Ranked #403 of 1,565 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $20 - $196
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on Bristol's Picturesque Harbourside, Bordeaux Quay is an award-winning venue with a reputation for great food and service, stylish décor and a stunning waterside location in Bristol's city centre.A restaurant, deli, brasserie, wine bar, bakery and cookery school under one roof.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely food, catered well for special diets.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Really nice food, a seasonal menu so you get the feeling that anything you order will be at its best. The knowledgable waiting staff were able to help with a gluten free diet. Nice touches such as little blankets available for diners sitting outside if it got a little chilly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    296
    177
    114
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Italy
Level Contributor
377 reviews
234 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Overpriced and just not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Family birthday. My kids love chain restaurants. Ugh!, I chose the fish and chips which came with thick, soggy batter and mashed garden peas. The chips had seen better days. All for £12.50. Much better choices on the Quay. Waatch out for the 12.5% added tip, which I wouldn't have paid.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“This place is badly overrated, don't be fooled by nice exterior”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been wanting to visit this restaurant for a few years now, it has always looked inviting and like a nice place for Sunday brunch or lunch. I found myself and four family members there on a Sunday lunchtime. Although alot of downstairs was empty, we were led to a small cramped and dark table, under the stairs, which was not a nice place to spend much time. We ordered two starter size mussels, one large moules et frites, one child's size fusilli and tomato sauce and one asparagus with hollondaise. When the asparagus arrived, I did actually wonder momentarily if the waitress was joking - there were about 5 sorry looking spears of asparagus, with a splat of hollondaise sauce over it. No garnish, no side salad. For which they expected £7. We sent that back. The mussels we had were the tiniest I have ever eaten, I am surprised they were even legal! The bread basket was dull, the fusilli and sauce looked to be out of a packet. The toilets were even tired, peeling paintwork and neglected looking. What a shame as I had quite high hopes. I guess maybe it is still trading on it's location and perhaps former quality? Anyway, the sorry food with some soft drinks came to £50, and they add on automatic service charge (another bug bear I am afraid). So I do not recommend this place, and I am afraid I will definitely not return. Whoever is in charge should really buck their ideas up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank victoriafull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“spend your money somewhere better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I had visited this restaurant a month ago and was not that impressed. I was meeting up with some people from work. When I learnt that we had been booked in here by one of the group, I did not suggest we change it - I now regret this! The service was really, really slow and yet they added 10% service charge (which we removed) The 4 of us ended up having the pork with sage for our main - we all found the pork was dry and chewy and the taste of sage overwhelming. When we told the waiter we all felt the dish was not of a great standard - he smiled and walked away - not great customer service ! The sweets were ok. Its the last time I will eat here however - there are lots of lovely places to eat in the centre of Bristol without the risk of having a mediocre meal here. Its a shame this restaurant is a bit hit and miss as it used to be good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 22kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Standard inconsistent”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a very enjoyable meal here last year but unfortunately when we returned recently, the standard had dropped considerably. The booking was later in the evening than normal ie 9pm, but this should not be any reflection on the quality. As we finished our meal the staff started packing up around us causing alot of noise and disruption. The menu selection is becoming more and more sparse and there is little variation to choose from. Lunchtime seems to be the best time to visit, as the staff seem happier. As with most restuarants, we suspect the staff were rushed off their feet and could not wait to get home. Not their fault at all - but we had choosen the venue for a birthday meal and sadly we wont be returning.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bordeaux Quay also viewed

 

Been to Bordeaux Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing