We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bordeaux Quay

Bordeaux Quay
Ranked #378 of 1,552 Restaurants in Bristol
Price range: $20 - $196
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated on Bristol's Picturesque Harbourside, Bordeaux Quay is an award-winning venue with a reputation for great food and service, stylish décor and a stunning waterside location in Bristol's city centre.A restaurant, deli, brasserie, wine bar, bakery and cookery school under one roof.
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The food was really great, and the service friendly. We had a dinner for a group of 10-11 people, we get 2 big round tables - it was comfortable, but we really couldn't communicate well, the physical distance between people was to huge ;) So if you want to talk to your friends - it's not the best place. But if you want great food - it seems to be a very god choice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rekawek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    295
    175
    114
    73
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice, but could be better.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We ate here with a group. Started with a cocktail which was alright, but nothing special. At 7 pounds, I expect more. The wine with the meal was really good. Location almost can't be better and staff were prompt and friendly.
What makes me give three stars, though, is that a restaurant at this level (Michelin guide recommendation) simply cannot serve beef without asking how it should be cooked. The food was fine, but this is a basic issue.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank vintiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“BREAKFAST IN THE SUNSHINE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

The new Bristol Docks area are a joy to discover, particularly in the sunshine. Centrally located, near the Aquarium, the Bordeaux Quay has an excellent terrace where one can enjoy breakfast, or just a cappucino - great atmosphere.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DomusDick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Coffee good-breakfast expensive and disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

This is a restaurant I have visited before, but I always hope that it will be better. It is a lovely location, and for breakfast it is quiet, and as they make their own bread, I thought it would be a good place for a coffee and a croissant.
£7.50 bought me a regular coffee, a cold croissant and an orange juice. The waitress brought me this and then seemed confused that I asked for butter with my croissant, even though the menu lists this item as croissant butter and jam.. And why would anyone serve a croissant cold ? After that I did not see the waitress again, so had to look for ways to pay the bill.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby that offer a cheaper and better value breakfast.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BorisCatBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Pleasant waterside lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Visited the Bordeaux Quay for a Friday lunch with some work colleagues, having visited on a number of occasions for coffee, drinks and lunch over the years. Bordeaux Quay has a great location on the bustling waterfront in Bristol. The building is stunning with two levels. On the ground floor is a cosy bar area, bistro, and delicatessen. We didn't venture upstairs on this occasion - but this has been as fine dining area in the past. On the ground floor the triple height windows look over the water and flood the airy building with light. On this visit the downstairs bistro was full of customers - which was great to see. Service was friendly and efficient. Ultimately the test of a good restaurant is the food which on this occasion was perfectly acceptable without being particularly good. The menu has changed many times over the years and seems to now reflect a slightly more conservative selection than previously. We ate the risotto was pretty average, and the Italian fish stew was perfectly pleasant yet lacked a depth of flavour. We got the impression that the dishes were pre-made and warmed through rather than made fresh given the speed which they arrived at our table. Prices are middle to high - hence the 3* rating overall. Overall perfectly pleasant without being outstanding - hope this review encourages you to visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidIsMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bordeaux Quay also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Bordeaux Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing