We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the set menu”
Review of Myristica Restuarant - MOVED

Myristica Restuarant
Price range: $33 - $33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bristol's Myristica, has set out with the aim of giving their customers 'a truly authentic flavour of Indian food'. The experience begins with the restaurant itself. Modern, sleek and good looking from the polished hard wood floors to the gleaming marble bar the interior surely wouldn't be out of place in a top Mumbai hotel. The food follows suit, beautifully presented, each dish is made to order using quality, seasonal ingredients. With traditional street food cooked with as much passion as the speciality family dishes Myristica is rewriting the Indian food rule book.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Went here for dinner with a friend and we couldn't decide so went with the set menu. We were the only one's in there as it was early evening and service was spot on. (as you would expect being the only customer!)

Everything on the set menu tasted really good. It cost about £20 and there was a lot of food. We actually didn't manage to eat the last desert which we'd already paid for.

Nothing was bland or badly cooked. Would highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review it is appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed the set menu option, it really is a great way to taste various dishes.

Kind regards,

Amit L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 84 of 234 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2014

Nothing special here. I was feeling quite unadventurous so went for the chicken tikka. It literally tasted like chicken boiled in heinz tomato soup, no flavor, no love. I also had the prawn starter which was ok but really needed a sauce with it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roryperriment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your dining experience with us and I am surprised that you were not satisfied.

Our Chicken Tikka Masala is always cooked the old fashion "Indian" way and is also a massive hit at our cookery classes, where students are taught to make this, but will certainly be reviewing your comments with the team in the kitchen.

Also the Prawns dish is served with a tangy tamarind and date chutney so don't quite understand your comments about sauce not being available, but again will review with the team.

Regards,

Amit L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

what a great restaurant great service from the staff all very friendly . what a menu with some really interesting dishes to try , we went for the popperdoms to start which were a great mixture of different one and the main course was just fantastic we had the halibut tail curry which was amazing . we also had the Indian Red wine that they sold which was really nice , will have to find somewhere to buy that , had a real pepper taste to it . Highly Recommend this place

Thank sweetingrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive review of your dining experience with us, it is greatly appreciated.

Regards,

Amit L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

The title says it all ...... I'm not sure how this place is so highly rated, especially in relation to melhua on park street. It is billed as fine dining which it is definitely not. This is fair comment as to say you are fine dining takes more than cloth napkins. Starter of mussels not as expected, seemed like bagged mussels not fresh from shell (no shell on plate) main of lamb was nice. Service not great took ages to have orders taken and not attentive. I really wanted it to be great but it was just ok.

1  Thank ThinkinOutLoud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your dining experience with us, it is appreciated.

Your comments about the mussels is a bit unfair as the dish is labelled as "Mussel Stir Fry" and it would be difficult to stir fry mussel's in their shells! furthermore all our produce is sourced locally, particularly the sea food which is brought in from Devon.

Your other comments have been taken on board and we are always working hard to improve all aspects of the diners experience with us.

Kind regards,

Amit L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had a thoroughly enjoyable meal at Myristica last night.

The menu offers a refreshingly different choice of dishes as well as some old favourites so choosing what to eat can take time. The scallops & prawns were delicious as was the lamb Rogan Josh,

The management & staff are ever present to ensure that everything is to your satisfaction, highly recommended !!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amit L, General Manager at Myristica Restuarant, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated.

Regards,

Amit L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Myristica Restuarant also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing