We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for a chain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Las Iguanas

Las Iguanas
Ranked #49 of 1,552 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Brazilian, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
240 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Not bad for a chain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

This place is right on the waterfront, the cocktails are overpriced but the food is quite good. im sure we will be back at some point.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    284
    91
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Poor value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Friendly staff, decent menu. Cocktails very overpriced. Food quality is okay, but not good value for money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ConsumerJournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LasIguanasHQ, Owner at Las Iguanas, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry to hear you found our cocktails expensive. We offer two for the price of one all day Sunday to Wednesday and till 7.30pm on Thursday, Friday and Saturday, and the majority of our cocktails are around £6.20 which is well below many stand alone bars, so you may enjoy visiting again during happy hour. Lucy- Las Iguanas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Alternative latin american food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Unlike your typical Latin American restaurant, Las Iguanas' recently updated menu provided plenty of choice beyond the classics. I had the XinXim which is a crayfish and peanut sauced chicken curry from Brazil, which was unusual but tasty. Unfortunately on this occasion there were a number of large tables so food was a little on the slow side. We also made a booking but there was no record of it, but luckily they were able to fit us in with little wait for a table.

If you are drinking I would definitely recommend the Iguana Cosmo!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank williams_sl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Alway good food and a good feeling here ,we try to visit when we are in Bristol .This time we just had the sharing tray which was just the amount we needed before going to the theatre and of course some Happy Hour Cocktails 2 for the price of 1 Whats not to like .

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pickyNickyDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“two visits in three nights”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Found this lovely restaurant just a stones throw away from the ibis hotel on a short break to Bristol.We loved it so much we just had to go back and sample another meal. To our delight I have discovered we have the same chain locally and we are looking forward to checking it out when we get the chance.

It would be nice to know how many calories there are in the meals when ordering though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 4ndrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas also viewed

 

Been to Las Iguanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing