We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shocked”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Iguanas

Las Iguanas
Ranked #54 of 1,564 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Brazilian, Latin, Spanish, South American, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Walk through the doors of Las Iguanas and find yourself transported to Latin America, full of rich, vibrant colours, quirky features and custom-made wooden mosaic tables made especially for the restaurant from sustainable woods in Brazil. Each restaurant is unique and the staff love bringing unusual things back from their travels, ranging from large lobster sculptures to giant drums. The philosophy of Las Iguanas is to serve delicious and authentic Latin American food and drink in an environment which evokes the very best of Latin life. With recipes dating back to the 16th century, the food successfully fuses native Latin American Indian, Spanish, Portuguese and African influences. Working hard to ensure that everything comes from the best possible source, Las Iguanas is proud of its fresh GM free food and top quality ingredients.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Shocked”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Always avoided this venue as it looks like a branded restaurant that would serve substandard food.

I apologise.

The service was excellent. The food was even better. My four year old ate every little piece of his meal.

Dont be put off by the busy brand. The down side is this venue does act like a bar at the weekends and can get very busy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    289
    96
    32
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamarin
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Tasty food in a nice friendly young atmosphere”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food is fun, sloppy and tasty. Freshly cooked, quick service, nice surroundings, all good for a relaxed and fun evening

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent find”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Happened upon las iguanas whilst walking around. Very nice and attentive staff. Wonderfully tasty food. 2for 1 drinks whilst we were there. Combination of mexican and brazilian style food. We didnt have much time to spend there but it would be a great place for a party. Filled in a card with my details and comments and received voucher for money off next visit. Highly recommended

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juju016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Doesn not hit the mark in the same way as the Bath branch”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are regular customers of Las Iguanas in Bath and have always been pleased with their food and service. We have used the Bristol branch a few times and it never lives up to the Bath branch. The food has generally been disappointing, you get the feeling the staff don't really care about their customers, with long delays in food arriving and no apologies forthcoming, and the atmosphere is somehow lacking too.

After our last visit we came away slightly more dissatisfied than usual and filled out one of their customer satisfaction survey cards and asked for feedback - never heard a thing. So after several disappointing visits we don't bother with the Bristol branch any more.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrSpatula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Different”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We visited today after a stroll around Bristol's historic dock and we left feeling as though we had experienced something different from the normal chain restaurant. The choice was very different, of a very high quality and the service was fast and friendly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YesChefThanksChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Las Iguanas also viewed

 

Been to Las Iguanas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing