We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always enjoyable”
Review of Riverstation

Riverstation
Ranked #19 of 1,623 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $74
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have eaten here many times and never had a dud meal. Went again for lunch recently and sat upstairs, slightly more formal than the downstairs bar area. The restaurant was busy but the service was excellent, and the waitress very helpful to one of our group who needed gluten-free and lactose-free food. Everything was delicious, no complaints at all and it is always a pleasure to have such a great view of the harbour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jandgro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,870 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,164
    541
    113
    36
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Well worth going ahead of your reservation time and having a drink in the bar downstairs, a very pleasant start to the evening. We were with an old friend who has not been to Bristol for years, he loved the setting and the food. The scallops and fish were both good, there wasn't a wow factor but certainly nothing to complain about with the food. Wait staff were very conscientious, unfortunately the chairs are uncomfortable after a while, would be good if that could be put right

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bella426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not up to par”
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Thismis a pleasant restauurant overlooking the harbour but the chairs has been replaced with functional plastic and the number of tables expanded slightly. The restaurant was very busy and the service reflected the pressure on he staff we repeatedly had to seek out the waitress to take orders, food was served slowly and not hot. The quality of the food wasn't as good as previously with scallops lukewarm, main course fish overdone and the steak was good. Desserts were ok but not inspired. Having eaten here on several occasions and been very happy this was a disappointing experience and next time I will go on a weekday evening when they can cope.

Helpful?
Thank Gethin683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than ever!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Returned for another visit last weekend and the dining experience was thoroughly pleasing.
First class food, excellent service and beautiful views on the waterfront.
Probably the best in Bristol!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hungry_Horace_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, England
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A good business evening meal”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I needed a restaurant for an evening meal which was close to clients hotel in Bristol and after consulting Trip Adviser came up with this option. First bonus was, the restaurent had a free carpark ( evening) next door so parking was not an issue. Downstairs there appeared to be comfortable bar and lounge, upstairs and overlooking the river is the restaurant and we booked a table with a riverside view. Later in the year with the light evenings this would have been a wonderful view. The Restaurant itself has a very clean/modern ambience/decor/theme almost bordering on clinical which is in no way a negative remark. On the evening in question the staff were very helpful/attentive and no complainte there. Potential problem for me was taking continental guests who are used to good food into a UK Restaurant but everyone was happy with the menu and the dishes were quite unusual with a veriety of unusual fish dishes, Brill and Ling, which I sampled both and could recommend to anyone who likes fish. The portion sizes were adequat and better than many other eating establishments i have recently tried. Average cost was about £40 per person.
I will certainly take my wife back later in the year even though it isnt my classic choice for a cosey couples evening. The seats get a bit uncomfortable after about 90 minutes.
Final comment and I notice someone else mentioned it, the gents toilets, the trough was full of about three inches of urine so looks like a blockage and of course it ponged a bit but being a bloke you tend to put up with these sorts of things.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NUMBER1HOLIDAYMAKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverstation also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Riverstation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing