We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow Service in dining room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #22 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Slow Service in dining room”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

After waiting in the dining room for 45 minutes for my starter I cancelled my order and walked out. Several other guested were doing the same.

There were about 35 diners, many of whom were sitting there for a long time waiting to be served. Surely not a large number for such a large hotel to cope with.

The manager listened to my complaints and said that "the system and the printer that transmits orders to the kitchen was not working properly". He had to agree that it can't be that difficult to simply write down the order and walk into the kitchen if the "printer isn't working". Seems like a lack of communication between the dining room and kitchen. The manager did then personally bring a room service order to me quickly, so he partially redeemed the situation.

One other comment about dinner - the portions are very small...

Apart from that the hotel rooms, bar and service at breakfast in this hotel are very good. So come on Mercure, get your act between the dining room and kitchen sorted for your evening diners otherwise you will lose customers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steeldesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I can completely appreciate how disappointed you felt with your experience in our restaurant - technology can be extremely frustrating at times. It was the first time for something like that to occur, usually we would provide a much swifter and more relaxing dining experience at Mercure. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back one day to demonstrate this!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    795
    1,032
    476
    149
    88
See reviews for
401
938
133
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A well positioned base for a weekend in Bristol with only a short walk to the waterfront for an evening drink or meal. Room was large and well appointed, also made use of the small pool and the bar area. Breakfast was good vast options to cater for all tastes and plenty of it! Staff were helpful and friendly and I would stay again without doubt!

Room Tip: Ask for a free upgrade from a standard double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACKERS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We look forward to welcoming you back! Thank you for your lovely review!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The location was really central and easy to find, our room was large and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a slight problem on check in and the staff were incredibly responsive and wonderful about fixing the problem. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am delighted that we shall have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day! Thank you for your lovely feedback.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Sergices Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We booked well in advance and got a great deal. On the second night, we had the swimming pool to ourselves! (It is shallow and a little small, but was adequate.) The hotel was perfectly located for us; just a 3 stop bus ticket (1 quid) from Cabot's Circus, a walk to @Bristol and the Old City, also a short walk to MShed museum which runs steam locos, tugs etc on some days. There was an excellent and reasonably priced Indian in the next street. Only thing that let it down, was that the room was near the lift which was noisy with people exiting late on the first night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
It's a shame we did not place you in a room far away from the lift! Next time please request this as we shall happily oblige!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

An overall pleasant experience. Good room with everything you expect. The location is ok. A 10 minute walk to the edge of the shopping area.
Hotel was quiet.
The gym was pretty useless. Very low ceiling. Don't be over 6' and want to use the running machine.
I object strongly to paying to use the car park when I paid over £100 a night for bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodo2761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you for your email, I am glad to see that you had a good experienc with us! Regarding parking charges, I do appreciate your feedback however you will find this in all city hotels -we based our rate on the others!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Central location -great. Staying for business - fine. If you're looking for a warm and welcoming hotel, you're probably best of looking elsewhere as this is not the place for that (but you could probably already guess that). Parking is 'open air and costs about £5 which is ok considering the location. Wifi is complimentary, it's a real bug-bear of mine having to pay for what is quite essential these days.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank robspark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Not warm and welcoming? That's very sad to hear! I am sorry that we did not succeed in this for you! I do hope that you will come back again for us to turn around your opinion! I agree with the wifi, that's why we offer this for free it really is an everyday essential!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#4 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing