We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
england
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfy clean rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night, and was surprised at room rates . We paid £55 for the night . We stayed in a mecure previously and had much nicer rooms. We had just a double. Bed was comfy and bedfing was lovely...Room was clean but did have a horrible smell which we could do nothing about as the windows didn't open. The hotel is in a great spot and has a lovely pool. I can't comment on the food as we didn't dine there .. I would recommend this hotel and would definately stay there again ..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gloucester2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
We do offer some great deals when we can! I am sorry to read that your room had an unpleasant smell, we would have been more than happy to provide you with another room! I am delighted to see that you would recommend our hotel, thank you very much!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    1,012
    468
    147
    86
See reviews for
395
928
132
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Really impressed with the hotel, and it's exactly what I expect from a Mercure property. Had a Superior room, which was very spacious, well appointed, clean and quiet. Staff were friendly, quick and helpful. There were a couple of little issues (ironing board that wouldn't stay up, kettle that was caked full of limescale) but nothing that was a real problem.

Sunday morning breakfast was a little hectic, but the selection was good and the buffet was well-stocked.

Location is also excellent, and I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
I am delighted you were impressed! Even though you consider the problems you experienced minor I would still like to apologise for this - please do feel free to inform the hotel desk and we can rectify anything like that swiftly!
Thank you for your comments!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

A large group of us stayed here for a weekend, and we had a great time out in Bristol. The hotel is smart, clean, with a large bar and it's well placed near to Bristol Temple Mead Station and the town centre.

Upon check-in the staff were excellent and pleasant to us all. They dealt with a myriad of requests from our party, politely and professionally. And an upgrade to a junior suite from a double room seemed very reasonable.

The rooms are bright, spacious, clean, quiet and everything worked just fine, (WiFi, TV, Air Con, Fridge etc) and the beds seemed especially comfortable. The only issue I found is that you couldn't open the windows at all, which made the large room feel a little claustrophobic. A couple of people brought up that their rooms smelt a bit musty and I think that must be because of this.

There is a large, well lit, modern bar area which with friendly service, all the staff were very attentive.

The breakfast was good, and seemed to be open a very long time, (from about 7 until 11), with well-stocked hot and cold buffets and no extra costs for special requests, (kippers etc.)

Overall we all had a great weekend in Bristol, and the Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel (quite a mouthful) helped make this a very pleasant stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! I am delighted you and your group had a good stay with us! ( and yes the name can be a mouthful - just think, we say this as part of our greeting on every phone call made to the hotel!)
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for one night in July 2013 in order that we could follow the Gromit Unleashed trail. It was a blisteringly hot weekend and therefore it was lovely to be able to return to a cool air conditioned room at this hotel. We didn't spend an awful lot of time at the hotel and elected not to have breakfast on account of the price. Nonetheless, our experience was very pleasant and our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The only thing I would say is that I am a bit claustrophobic and I was therefore not entirely keen on the fact that the hotel is fitted with fixed windows that have no means of opening. Whilst this had its benefits in respect of the air conditioning, I, at least, would prefer to be able to open a window if given the choice. I don't like the feeling of being shut in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of you recent stay with Mercure, I am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay though I do appreciate your feelings with regards to the comfort of open windows
I do hope you were able to see as many Gromits as possible!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

What struck me most about this hotel was that the room rate competes with Premier Inn but no part of the hotel had that standardised, basic budget feel. In particular, the room was large with big comfortable beds and an excellent bathroom. I have got a bit lazy and too readily book with Premier Inn on business trips but the Mercure opened my eyes to the fact that you can get far better for the price. Would definitely stay here again when in Bristol.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I am really pleased that you decided a change from your regular hotel to book with Mercure! We look forward to welcoming you back!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saundersfoot pembrokeshire. Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed for two nights on a clubcard deal. Chose to upgrade to a junior suite with lounge and really glad we did. A massive room with some nice extras, Breakfast was great, but evening meal in the restaurant was a little disappointing. Portion sizes were a bit small and looked worse served on a massive plate. Staff were very attentive and friendly but with some language difficulties. The hotel and room were very clean except a couple of stray hairs in the shower and WC. Would recommend and will stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srd999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for recommending us! Though I do apologise for the uncleanliness of the bathroom - I have shared your comments with our housekeeping contractors!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

On arrival we were welcomed by very friendly staff and on entering the hotel we were very impressed. Our room was nice and spacious, clean with a lovely view of the river. The pool was quite small but clean and fine for our stay. We stayed during the beer festival which was within 5 mins walking distance from the hotel which was ideal. Great location if you want to go shopping to. Would definitely go back. Only negative is the pub next door which doesn't look inviting but this isn't the hotels fault.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob43210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope you had plenty of good beers at the festival too! Please do visit us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing