We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 months and no complaints?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2 months and no complaints?”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I was working in Bristol for 8 weeks and stayed here for 5 nights a week. I ate in the hotel most nights and never had a bad meal. If you choose to eat in your room the service is very quick but there is a £5 tray charge.

The entry level rooms are quiet and well appointed but if you can spare an extra £20 it's well worth upgrading to a "Privilege" room for a huge bath and espresso machine.

After reading other reviews I was concerned about parking but only once failed to get a space in the hotel car park when I got back at 9:30pm which wasn't a big deal as there is a cheap car park next door.

I would recommend the Mercure in Bristol for it's relaxing atmosphere and comfortable rooms but the best feature of this hotel is the friendly and professional staff. Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and I always received a warm welcome when checking in.

Room Tip: The rooms opposite the Church can get a little noisy when they're ringing the bells but it doesn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank awayfromhome1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, I am really glad to see that you enjoyed your long stay with us! I shall share your comments with the staff!
Please do visit us again when your next in Bristol!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Geust Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    798
    1,040
    478
    151
    90
See reviews for
403
942
133
580
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located in the city centre of Bristol. The rooms are spacious and clean. The hotel has a bar that serves food and a restaurant. It offers an excellent full-English breakfast buffet.
Staff are very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SOLI1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for the great title - we are certainly trying to be one of Bristol's best hotels!!
I do hope that you visit us again!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carluke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here instead of the usual Novotel as it was fully booked. The Mercure was very nice and modern. The rooms were clean and well appointed (though there was no bathtub). We made use of the swimming facilities which were perfectly adequate.

My only complaint, was the parking was woefully inadequate for a hotel of it's size. We parked initially to check in, then after leaving the car park to visit friends we were unable to re-enter it for the entire weekend, forcing us to park 1/2 mile away at Temple Meads station (which was cheaper anyway).

Room Tip: Take a Privilege room, they have a nicer view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badbob1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am glad that you had the opportunity ( even if perhaps not by choice) that you were able to try a Mercure hotel. I can understand how a little frustrating it may have been to have had to park elsewhere and I am disappointed that you were not informed that you could have parked around the outside of the hotel.
Thank you for your feedback - should you stay with us again we would be more than happy to provide you a room with a bath!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Was sadly disappointed by this hotel right from the start! None of our 6 rooms were ready for us to book in to on time (at 2pm!!). Eventually one room became available and we were all able to place our bags in that room until the rest were ready.
There was one inexperienced person working behind the bar, the service was so slow, not to mention the inconsistent pricing of the drinks!
I didn't have a treatment in the 'spa' however I did use the free facilities which consisted of a tiny claustrophobic swimming pool, no Jacuzzi, steam room or sauna! How on earth it can call itself a spa hotel I don't know?
Fortunately my group of friends were only using this hotel as base for the night. The bedroom was too hot, the air conditioning was feeble at best, and not very clean... finding spare change on the floor and a used wet wipe belonging to the previous occupant, and tea/coffee facilities not fully replenished! The breakfast was the highlight of the hotel... even though it was tepid at best.
I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 275Clairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your feedback though I am greatly disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We may not have a jacuzzi, steam room sauna, etc however at our Spa we do offer all the types of treatments one would expect to find- we also keep out leisure facilities open for twenty four hours, something we believe we are unique in! I do apologise that your room was not ready by the designated check in time of 2pm, Sometimes our guests may have later departures which would make it a little more difficult for us to have the rooms ready on time -though I do apologise that your room was not up to the four star level cleanliness that it should have been,
Thank you once again for your comments.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I booked a night at the Mercure, Holland House Hotel last Friday. I was very impressed by the whole experience. I know Bristol very well, and it was a good location. The standard room was very good in size for a single traveller and the staff were friendly and helpful. Highly recommended for anyone not wanting to break the bank, but wanting a quality room and hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BingoSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for recommending us as a quality hotel and thank you for your feedback! I do hope you visit us again soon.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

got this hotel on a last minute secret hotel deal as part of a surprise weekend away for my girlfriends birthday and it did not disappoint!the only downside was when we turned there was no record of my booking but it don't whose fault that was but it got us an upgrade to a nicer room an one with a view so wasn't all bad after the initial panic!!room was very nice and spacious only moan about the hotel was it wasn't as close to the shopping centre as I thought.But apart from that the hotel was great,had room service for dinner and that was very nice and then had the breakfast buffet in the morning which was also very nice and plentiful

Room Tip: go for a higher floor but for a lie in dotn have a room facing the church
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tushki88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I can imagine the panic you must have felt when being told you had no reservation - I do apologise for that but I am delighted we booked you in and upgraded you! I am glad to see you enjoyed the food and that you had a comfortable stay!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Level Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Great location close to shops, bars and river. The rooms are very comfortable though maybe a bit too hot and the air con didn't work too well. The staff had excellent customer service. The pool and pool are were disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
I am really happy to see you received excellent customer service! I can see that perhaps you experienced some discomfort with the air conditioning which I am disappointed we could not rectify during your time with us. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Property: Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing