We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a very comfortable stay in this hotel. The room was of a good size, well fitted and modern with a very efficient air conditioning/heating system; everything was very clean with loads of extra towels. Food was excellent, especially the breakfast (although as other reviewers mentioned not cheap). The hotel is well placed for central Bristol, with the pretty waterfront, the Shed museum and the SS Great Britain also close by (try the water buses also for easy transport - a stop is close to the hotel). The hotel's most outstanding feature was its staff. Not one negative experience - with all attentive and friendly - and with Christina's service in the dining room (especially with our 4 year old) amongst the best we have ever received. If we have one negative comment it was the closure of the pool for much of Monday (when we were hoping to use it). However we really enjoyed our time here and will certainly stay again if we return to Bristol.

Room Tip: We had a quiet room facing the inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

It's fantastic enouragement when staff have their names mentioned - I'm really happy Christina helped make your stay great! I shall certainly be passing on these lovely comments to her.
We will be looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Kind Regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,854 - 1,860 of 2,662 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip to Bristol. Everything was good and as you should expect from this chain of hotels. Easy walk from the rail station. The breakfast was very good with a buffet and a la carte. I recommend the Eggs Benedict!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peversFJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedaback! When you visit Bristol again in the future, please do remember to stay with us again - think Eggs Benedict!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stay in many hotels for my job around the country.

I found the quality of the rooms, and cleanliness to be less than a Jury's Inn or Premier Travel lodge. This hotel is supposed to be 4 star. I found plates and used glasses in the hallway outside my room and these were still there three hours after i had arrived. My bedroom was dated in decor.

The restaurant was expensive and the portions for the price excessive.

The hotel is some walk away from any other amenity, and perhaps this is means their attention to detail and food is not so good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MarcJiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I most disappointed that you found the corridors in the condition you described and do apologise for this. I am very disappointed that the our restaurant did not meet your taste, though we do have a new menu this month! We are only 2 minutes walk from the nearest dining out area, there are plenty of places to choose from.
Thank you once again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Friendly staff, but an expensive place to stay. Wasn't expecting £12 to park at a hotel I'd paid £105 to stay at.
Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from and well presented and offered refills of my coffee twice, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Colin_Slater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

I am really delighted to see that you noticed the little things! Attention to detail is very important to us with customer service.
With parking, it is quite a normal procedure in city hotels, but we do keep your vehicle safe!
Please do visit us again in the future.
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Exterior of the hotel is not great but inside it is excellent. Reception & bar area are large and comfortable. Room was spacious, clean, modern and had all expected facilities. Restaurant food was amazing, great value from the 3 course for £18 menu plus I was given a voucher for a free large glass of wine on check in. I've been staying in a variety of Bristol hotels for work this past 6 months and this one definitely ranks towards the top!

Only tip is not to check in too late as I'm not sure there would be a parking space. I got there at 7.30pm in their large car park and had to use the last available space.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenifaHaych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

If I were to personally choose something that I like about the hotel it would be the look of the building outside - because as soon as you enter you get a surprise! Thank you for your lovely encouraging comments, I shall cetainly pass these on to the staff!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Picked this hotel for its large car park and convenience to the business district. Good recptionist French guy what else. Very nice room, but lighting could have been better. Bar modern and stylish. Didn't eat dinner in the hotel as i went for a walkout but menu looked fine and reasonable priced options for a 4 star.Didnt use the leisure facillities but looked Ok. Breakfast next morning good.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeCHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am very happy to see you had a pleasant stay and do hope that you return to us again sometime in the year!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a 2 nights in March 2013 with my partner to celebrate his birthday, the rooms were comfortable and a good size, tea & coffee facilities were provided as standard but only one biscuit which was rather disappointing. The hotel is directly opposite St Mary Redcliffe Church, make time to visit the church which is really beautiful inside and well worth the effort, they have a wonderful group of bell ringers too. The hotel staff and restaurant were friendly and pleasant, although the wine prices were very high. Overall the hotel is comfortable but not great, I requested a basket of fruit in the room for my partner on arrival, in fact we got a plate of sliced fuit left on the dressing table and it needed to be eaten rather quickly! The location is good, easy access to the city center, train station and good restaurants close by, I would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitbred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with Mercure - I do hope we can welcome you back again! That's great that you had time to visit St Mary Redcliffe Church, we are very fortunate to be next to such beautiful architecture!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $83 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing