We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not fantastic value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Ranked #25 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Booked a 'Deluxe King' through BA for me and a mate whilst we were visiting Bristol, though I've concluded what we stayed in was a 'superior double' as advertised on the hotel website. The size of the room was great, absolutely huge, although this seems to be the only premium you get in the superior rooms and isn't high on my list of things I would want from a more expensive room. In other hotel chains you'd get fluffy bathrobes, large TVs, complimentary newspapers etc... but these were nowhere in sight. Empty minibar, minimal offerings of toiletries/tea/coffee and not even a bathtub. Was left slightly disappointed by this. I would just go for the cheaper room next time, if you really wanted the premium stuff go for a 'privilege room' (this is where the extras are) but the 'superior' is not worth the money.

What really annoyed me about the room was that it was located on only the second floor. Normally premium rooms are located on higher floors. In addition, our room faced onto the road and as noted in other reviews, the single glazing caused a problem because it let so much traffic noise into the room! The windows are also exceptionally large and there are no opaque privacy curtains to draw across, which gives you the impression everyone on the street can see in, which is particularly worrying as the bathroom door opens facing one of the windows (although actually the windows are tinted outside, so it's impossible, but still makes you feel insecure). Adding to the noise from outside were disturbances from the corridor. Don't guarantee trying to sleep past 8:30 as noise from other guests and the cleaners starts early and we weren't even particularly close to the lifts!

All that said, the hotel itself is in a very nice condition with modern yet classic decor, exceptional cleanliness and superb staff. Didn't get a chance to sample the bar or the pool but having viewed them both they looked good. Free wi-fi in the room was much appreciated and is fast enough for browsing Facebook, emails and apps on phone and tablet. You can pay £10 for 24-hour access to high bandwidth internet, but the slower free access really did suffice. Fluffy feather pillows were also something I really liked since it's rare you find them in hotels. Room service menu was extensive, bit pricey but to be expected from this kind of hotel. Also, the temperature of the room wasn't really a problem like in other reviews. Just close the curtains and turn the heating up high for a bit, you might have trouble sleeping with the A/C unit on but the room heats up quickly.

Oh, and the location is also pretty good. 5 minute walk from Temple Meads and 10/15 minute walk to the Hippodrome/ Broadmead/ Cabot Circus. Just don't head right out the hotel late at night, the area's a bit dodgy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank namth90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at Mercure – the upgrade to our King Executive room is purely down to the sheer size and as you mentioned, they are huge!
We do hope you visit us again in the near future!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,692)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,934 - 1,940 of 2,692 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

I stayed recently on a business trip and was happy with my room. It was a good size and on the ground floor, which for me as a woman travelling alone was a bonus. I must say though, it was so cold and there was no spare blanket in any of the cupboards.
The restaurant staff were welcoming and friendly. I was seated centrally and not tucked away on my own. The food at dinner time was ok ( I am a bit spoiled for great food at home in Cornwall ) but nothing to write home about. Breakfast was good and service again excellent. No wait for anything. I only wish I'd tried the the eggs benedict!

Room Tip: My room was at the front on the main road and I wasn't too bothered by road noise despite being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandapennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us at Mercure. I am sorry to hear that you were chilly during the night – for future reference; please do not hesitate to give our reception a call, we will be more than happy to provide a blanket and a heater!
Next time you know what to do – enjoy an eggs benedcit!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here, and had a great time. We had a Travelzoo special deal, and it was super value. We had a very spacious twin room, with the chilled white wine delivered as we unpacked. The only downside was that the shower cubicle could have done with an intense clean, which was not in keeping with the rest of the room and the shower room as it was spotless. The dinner was really good - outstanding for a hotel chain - and the service was friendly and courteous. At dinner, the smaller groups were kept apart from larger groups which was very well planned and thoughtfull. Breakfast was outstanding. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne111uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments from your last stay at our hotel – Your fab feedback regarding our restaurant has been passed on with immediate effect! Thank you very much!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Nice location.Easy to walk down the river or to the livelier pubs etc at night.
The twin double room was probably the biggest room I've had in the UK.Decent sized bathroom with big solid shower.All spotlessly clean.Proper curtains that block out the light.All staff we spoke to were very friendly.In short everything you could ask for a hotel.
£12 overnight parking maybe a little high.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 346.Overlooks the car park but massive quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TKPUNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Our twin/family rooms certainly are bigger than the norm – you are right! I am delighted that you were happy with your stay. It’s a great to know we offer everything you could ask for as a hotel - Thank you very much for your feedback!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pannones
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Booked this Hotel on a promotion deal with Travelzoo. Included a bottle of wine on arrival a 3 course dinner and full English breakfast. On booking in found staff very friendly and informative and we were given the chance to upgrade for £20, which was well worth it as room was very spacious and little more luxurious with little extras like bathrobes, slippers etc. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was great, large selection and dinner was absolutely delicious. Only down side was car park was extra at £12.00 per day, disappointing addition. Apart from this would definitely recommend this Hotel. Didn't get chance to use spa and pool/gym facilities as not there long enough so can't comment on those. This promotion was fantastic value for money and Hotel exceeded expectations.

Room Tip: We had upgrade overlooking St Mary Redcliffe Church. Massive room & nice outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent Travelzoo stay! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of the upgrade to a privilege room – they are certainly worth it!
We are delighted that we exceeded your expectations – that is our main goal!
Please look out for more great deals on offer for the future!
Kind regards
Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary2555
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Mercure Bristol Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,760 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Hotel City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa

Address: Redcliff Hill, Bristol BS1 6SQ, England (Formerly Mercure Holland House Bristol)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Bristol
#13 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Business Hotel in Bristol
#14 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#16 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $89 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the hospitality of the 4 star Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa which is perfectly placed for business or leisure, be it a family break, city getaway or a fun filled adventure in this cosmopolitan metropolis. All 275 rooms are contemporary and well appointed bedrooms with large beds. The Urban Bar & Kitchen offers a vibrant and contemporary atmosphere with a fantastic open plan dining facility. Using the finest local produce, you can expect urban food, unsung heroes along with some guilty pleasures to satisfy your appetite. For ultimate relaxation and indulgence why not visit the Spa which offers various treatments, a large indoor heated pool and fitness suite. An affordable yet stylish and luxury hotel that delivers and will ensure your stay is memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Holland House Bristol Hotel Bristol
Mercure Holland Hotel Bristol
Accor Holland Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing