We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$79
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$94
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$68
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$73
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$74
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,842)
Filter reviews
2,842 results
Traveler rating
862
1,134
539
180
127
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
1,134
539
180
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolseparate buildingprivilege roomcity centrehen partiesoffice blocktwo double bedstrouser pressgood sizeper nightan upgradefamily roomcar parkingsunday morningcoffee machinestayed here for one nightbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
2,128 - 2,133 of 2,842 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We spent two nights here, courtesy of Tesco points. As it wasn't actually our first choice in Bristol I wasn't necessarily expecting too much, but it was great! The staff were really pleasant, the room was spacious and very quiet (3rd floor, at the side) with a big, comfy bed, nice loungy chairs and a walk in shower in a big bathroom. The only couple of negative points about the room were that I would have liked a bath and the ironing board, while useful, didn't seem to have a home in the room and sort of lurked incongruously by the wardrobe!
Breakfast was included and it was excellent. As well as the cooked buffet and all the usual juices, fruit, pastries, etc there was also an option to order from a menu and I had Eggs Benedict and my husband had smoked haddock, both really nicely cooked and quickly served!
We didn't try the pool but we enjoyed hearing the church bells opposite - not often we hear bells rung properly like that! Like others have said, the car parking fee is a pain - but common to most city hotels, unfortunately. Had we thought, we would have parked in a nearby street and would do so if we visited again.

Room Tip: Our room at the end of a corridor on the 3rd floor was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thestens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

We do like details! Thank you very for your comments!
Please do visit us again in the near future
Kind regards

Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for a family celebration weekend and we were impressed by the service and helpfulness of the staff. The swimming pool was a bonus and our two grandsons were made to feel very welcome. We had some minor criticisms of he housekeeping in the rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I shall be passing on your compliments to the staff! As for the nigly things with Housekeeping, please do not hesitate to tell us!
Kind regards

Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for easy access to Temple Meads train station so that we could visit Bath and also do some Christmas shopping in Brsitol. It was a great choice, on arrival we upgraded to an executive room which was really spacious and comfortable with an enormous bathroom. Furnishings are new and well designed. Excellent breakfast and service even though the hotel was busy. Looked like a lovely pool but we didn't have time to swim.

Room Tip: We were third floor and at side of hotel yet still had good view of city.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madogfechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us! I am delighted that your stay was comfortable and that you got to do some vital Christmas shopping!
I do hope you visit us again soon
Kind regards

Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We pre-booked several treatments and on arrival we were taken to a lounge and left to wait for our therapists who never materialized as they had apparently all decided to take a break off site, leaving their clients sitting waiting. As we had paid up front, after half an hour with no appearances made by anyone, we decided to ask for a refund and left. The manager did offer a free treatment at another time, however our relaxing afternoon was pretty much ruined by that point and as we are not local the offer was not much use. We saw the therapists re-entering the spa as we left, laughing and giggling, oblivious to our poor treatment, and obviously they don't really give a toss about their clientele. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank NM3378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for your comments though I am most disappointed to hear of your experience in the Spa. I shall be passing on your comments to the Spa Manager so I can investigate what happened. By all means you should not have been kept waiting for so long and I am very disappointed for you as I can imagine you were looking forward to the day.
If you were to visit us again in the near future then please do not hesitate to contact the hotel and ask for myself and I am sure that we can sort a special deal for you
Kind regards

Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had 2 rooms for one night. The rooms were good; the staff couldn't do more for you. However, having paid a lot for one night having to pay another £12 for the privilege of parking put a damper on the stay that would put me off staying again.

As for Bristol it seemed a fab place for the short time we were there and want to go back to explore more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussDrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zowie O, Manager at Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Thank you for your feedback, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. I appreciate your frustration over parking charges but it's something that's done in most city hotels nowadays. It is a widely mixed opinion amongst guests, though we have chosen our prices carefully in comparison with other hotels.
Thank you once again for your comments
Kind regards

Zowie Osborne
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews