We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and great location”
Review of The Belgrave

The Belgrave
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bristol
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Belgrave
Ranked #21 of 52 Bristol B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Welcoming and great location”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Great location for short stays - great views of Bristol city from one of the rooms we stayed in. Friendly and jovial hosts who love to help. They serve a good breakfast.
Very clean and cared for facilities.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeagain255103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    29
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
17
29
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

I stayed with Mike and Kay for 3 nights the last weekend in May. Their place is absolutely lovely - gorgeous spacious room, nice bathroom with a huge clawfoot tub, right across the street from open space (lots of runners, cyclists, dogs enjoying it!).

Mike and Kay are just wonderful hosts - so welcoming, so friendly, so helpful! Breakfast (whatever I wanted) was delivered to my room each morning. I especially loved chatting with them down in their kitchen each day before I headed out.

Was just a 10-minute walk/3-minute drive to my son's house. Also very convenient to main roads, bus line, etc. They gave me very detailed directions for wherever I was going, and even recommended a wonderful place for Sunday breakfast/lunch/brunch with my son; they even gave the restaurant a ring to let them know we were coming and to take good care of us.

I don't expect to be returning to Bristol, but if I did, I would definitely stay with Mike and Kay again! You should too!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Very welcoming owners, helpful and friendly. Lovely room with views across the Downs. Beautifully cooked breakfast brought to room.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janeBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Stayed here for proximity to The Spire Hospital, as my husband was there undergoing a knee op and it was perfect for this. Just a five minute, well-lit walk, using the many pedestrian crossings meant the busy traffic wasn't a problem.
The caring owners looked after me, as a lady on her own, and the breakfast was fab.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlygirl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We have stayed here several times a year for the last 3 years while our daughter was at university and it has always been an enjoyable experience. The owners are welcoming and can offer good advice about the area including places to eat. The bedroom at the back has doors out to a sheltered patio with views over the city - the perfect place to enjoy breakfast and relax. The facilities and breakfast are excellent and we would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gwynedd191277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Upon arrival we were met by the land lady who was absolutely wonderful !. We had the basement room , which had a wonderful garden overlooking Bristol. The room and bathroom were clean and everything I could have wished for. The breakfast was first class and filled us up for the day. This guest house is a few minutes walk from the Old Vic theatre school if you are going to an audition at the Old Vic or indeed just visiting Bristol please visit this guest house because we will certainly be visiting again !. This is truly a wonderful value for money guest house and one of the best I have ever visited.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave5964XL09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Kay and Mike, the owners of this guest house, were absolutely delightful. In spite of the fact I arrived dreadfully late they were extremely kind to me and made sure I was settled and comfortable before leaving me. They oozed warmth and friendliness. The full English breakfast was delicious and an added bonus was that they served it in my room. The only tiny downside was the morning commuter traffic. Coming from the countryside, I am not used to the early morning rush hour. However this is inconsequential when compared to such lovely people whose number one priority is to make sure their guests have a happy stay with them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Girl_about_2wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.9 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 38 in Bristol
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#30 of 38 in Bristol
661 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 38 in Bristol
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Avon Gorge Hotel
Avon Gorge Hotel
#29 of 38 in Bristol
921 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 38 in Bristol
660 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belgrave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belgrave

Property: The Belgrave
Address: 25 Upper Belgrave Road | Clifton, Bristol BS8 2XL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location, location, location! Situated on The Downs, 400 acres of open parkland, yet just a short distance from the City Centre. Walking distance to Bristol Uni/Clifton Suspension Bridge/Clifton Village. Newly appointed accommodation in a beautiful Georgian House. A warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Belgrave Hotel Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing