We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Sunday Roast”
Review of Port of Call

Port of Call
Ranked #452 of 1,979 Restaurants in Bristol
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

This is a traditional quaint English pub with great beer and food. Lovely atmosphere and tucked away from the main road.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank TheSkiBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 68 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2019

A friend of mine who lives in Bristol brought us to this pub and I am glad that she did. The pub's atmosphere was nice and the food was good. The slow cooked BBQ pork belly was tasty. The beef blade and sausages and mash was also delicious. I will definitely visit this pub again when in town.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank GuyFromTheSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2019

Really nice pub.
Very friendly staff.
Very good food.
Good selection for vegetarians and gluton free.
Very nice well kept beer.
Very welcoming to dogs (and people)
Water bowl by the roaring fire (for dogs)
Steep road up to it, slightly hidden away.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anyoneinracks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2018

We were in Bristol for 2 weeks (seeing our son off for MA programme in very nearby Bristol Old Vic Theatre School. Spent almost every night at Port of Call - just off WHITELADIES Road (about a block away from Clifton Downs. - but up a pretty steep short cobblestone street - wouldn’t recommend coming down to WHITELADIES if had too many pints or if happens to be snowy….) Built in 1700 (so says the sign) - great atmosphere. Reasonable prices. Very friendly staff no matter who was tending. Excellent hand-cut chips and other food. Great cider on tap as well as full bar (regrettably we’re gluten free so no longer drink beer/ale - but lots of pours.) The place is warm, relaxed, open. Pizza (so I hear) is excellent…. As I mentioned, we spent part of pretty much every night there….

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank rfpater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alison w, Owner at Port of Call, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2018

Hi Robert, thanks for the lovely review.
We have tried to make this a home from home venue, and appears it is working!

See you when in Bristol next

Best wishes

Port of Call Team x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2018 via mobile

Visited after a curry. Was very quiet when we arrived around 9pm. Much busier when we left 10:15pm.
Nice traditional pub. Reasonable range of ales on tap. Usual lagers etc.. just a little bit off the main road which probably gives it something. Worth a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank TheMoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port of Call also viewed

 
Hambrook, Winterbourne
Bristol, England
 

Been to Port of Call? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing