We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed”

SACO Bristol - West India House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
SACO Bristol - West India House
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We could not get into a hotel for a weekend stay in Bristol so booked into a studio apartment . Not stayed with SACO before but would certainly do so again. Clean , spacious accommodation with thoughtful extras . The kitchen was well equipped and separated from the main room by a door so did not hear fridge noise for example. Good quality towels in the bathroom .Excellent check in and check out procedures. Compared to a hotel room we had far more space and liked the independence. This particular apartment was well located. We asked for a quiet room and we got one .Very impressed.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (44)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 44 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

This flat had everything we needed for a weekend. Lots of extras - chocolate, cereal, biscuits etc. Brilliant shower and large towels. Extremely clean and quiet at night. A great location from which to explore Bristol. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 9 didn't have a view of the river but was quiet and not overlooked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kate m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was given a door entry code via email prior to my visit. When I arrived (midnight), that code turned out to be wrong. So, I had to call them up to get the correct code (thank god I had a UK sim with enough balance this time; c'mon I am a tourist!). Weekly service for cleaning up the apartment could have been better. They did not refill the washing tablets. The heater in bedroom was set to wrong times - so they were ON during days and OFF during nights! Did not bother to ask Saco as I would be put on long holds before I get hung up upon. I had this experience when asking for washing tablets. When there is no help required from Saco staff, the stay is quite pleasant. Excellent location - bars, pubs, shopping, restaurants - all within walking distance. Stayed here for almost 10 days :)
Btw, there is no actual staff in the premises. You have to call them.

Room Tip: Dont take the upper floor apartments as in the mornings there will be lot of noise from birds outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank VinithM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was my first SACO experience and will not be my last. Everything was made easy by the accessible, kind staff from the start. The apt was clean, large, quiet, and perfectly equipped for myself and daughter. We had at first booked for one night, though had no trouble adding on a second. When we called to ask about leaving our bags after checkout for a day trip to Bath, Judy, the delightful woman at Saco reception in Bath, purposed to keep them by her side for the day. She then brought out a map and highlighted all that we should visit in Bath. This was beyond our expectations! Thank you for a wonderful, welcoming stay in the UK.

Room Tip: Try to book room looking over the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SallieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a very well run apartment block; clean, well looked after with friendly, unobtrusive staff and in a great location. Our son is staying there for several months while working in Bristol, and we've also booked there when visiting him for a couple of days, so can confirm that it's excellent for a short trip or a longer stay.

West India House is an elegant period building down on the waterfront, and some of the apartments have really good river views. You're in the centre of the city, with everything on your doorstep, yet the building is somehow tucked away, with no through traffic, so it's quiet. The apartments are well equipped, and we've found it to be an excellent alternative to a hotel when staying in Bristol.

Room Tip: There are good river views from rooms at the front.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Working in Bristol for a couple of months and this is so much nicer than living in an hotel. I agree with all the positive comments already left and really have nothing negative to say at all - perfect :-)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frannie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in the SACO West India House apartments in late November. The apartment I was allocated was a large studio apartment. It was well equipped, nicely decorated and maintained and had beautiful river views. I would definitely stay here again, recommended! If broadband had been included in the cost of the apartment rental then this property would have received an 'excellent' rating

Room Tip: If possible opt for a room / apartment with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graeme T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Bristol - West India House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Bristol - West India House

Address: 2-4 Welsh Back, Bristol BS1 4SS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Bristol
Price Range: $115 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Bristol - West India House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a central location on the waterfront and close to Bristol city centre offices, this is an exclusive development of luxurious and spacious studios, one bedroom apartments (some with sofa bed) and a magnificent two bedroom penthouse. Each interior designed apartment has a large living and dining area, fully equipped kitchen, huge double bedroom with king size bed and separate bathroom. These apartments are an ideal hotel alternative for corporate housing and relocation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your SACO Bristol - West India House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing