We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and will be better”
Review of Wild Place Project

Wild Place Project
Ranked #27 of 199 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very good and will be better”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by Wild Place. Although there aren't many animals yet those that are there are fascinating, especially in the wonderful lemur enclosure. The surroundings are beautiful, with plenty of walks. The barefoot trail is great fun as well, and all in all our visit was about three hours It will be even better once the animal stock is increased, but I guess the price will go up as well. In any case it's nice to see the project in its early stages while everything is fresh and new.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BattyBat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    167
    40
    24
    22
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Save your money!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Having checked the website before going we were aware that this is an ongoing project however definitely felt it was opened prematurely (in time for school holidays!). The lemur enclosure is very good getting quite up close and personal with them but in all honesty that's really the only positive thing to say! The paths are near on impossible if you have a pushchair with giant stones/gravel as the walkways, yes the play area is ok but I didn't pay the heavily inflated entrance fee to use a play area (could have gone to the park for free!) aside from the zebra the animals that are there have been taken from bristol Zoo meaning there is less to see there but for the same price and they can now also charge entrance to this place too. We had seen everything there was to see in around half an hour and so disappointed were the kids (ages 2 and a half, 3 and a half) that my niece said on the way out are we going to see the animals now!!! I can see the potential with the land that's available but just begrudge how early in the project they've opened. Overall a very expensive ''day'' out (entrance fee and cakes £50)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lockey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful afternoon out.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Wild place is what it says on the tin. I don't know what people are expecting it to be. An otherwise piece of disused land has been turned into a brilliant conservation area. It is not a zoo - if you want to see caged animals then go to Bristol Zoo. There are some lovely walks and you wouldn't realise you we're less than a mile away from the Mall. The cafe is lovely with great staff and service, selling snack food not a 3* gourmet restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We went on a weekend enjoyed the barefoot trail and big enclosures for animals! Loved being so close to the lemurs and the twins! Zebras had a huge enclosure to run in and eat the long grass! Will be very good when the get more animals! But very good

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank animalkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A calm relaxing place.”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

It was lovely, the relaxing walks and pleasant staff, baby lemurs, was not busy, if too much is expected or you expect a zoo enviroment at zoo prices you will be disappointed. The garden was amazing - plants should have name tags though! A very nice day for my 9 and 14 year old sons.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank darthvaderr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Place Project also viewed

 

Been to Wild Place Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing