We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bakery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hart's Bakery

Hart's Bakery
Ranked #1 of 17 Bakeries in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good bakery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Huge collection of cakes make you always confuse in selection. Its very good taste. Trying one time!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nicksaed71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    27
    18
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So it's not a Restaurant, but.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a lovely gem in an unexpected place. They make exceptional sourdough bread, delicious cakes and pastries, and every day have a number of savoury options for lunch.

Some of the options are only available on certain days, I thoroughly recommend going on a Thursday or Friday for the Custard Tarts. It is always worth going early, especially if you want bread or pastries, as they usually sell out.

I've been a few times and the service is always lovely, the lunch specials are wonderful and vary day to day, and the pasties are fab. You can also opt for toasty made with house bread.

They serve Extract coffee and a number of different teas, all very carefully made. There is a wide choice of cakes and sweet stuff. The atmosphere is always lively, warm and welcoming.

Worth a trip all on it's own, and certainly an essential stop if you are at the station anyway.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikvenn81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not my cup of coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Like so many others here, I visited on the strength of all the reviews but left a bit puzzled over them. Busy Saturday morning and praise has to be given to the professionalism of the serving staff. But my cappuccino was poor (and certainly not worth £2.20 for the size of it) and whilst the pain au chocolate was on the large side, it was cold and the chocolate inside hard. The breads did look good though.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Shrimpysmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not a bad bakery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Another venue in Bristol that I don't really understand what the fuss about.

I use Temple Meads a lot so pop-in here on a semi-regular basis and was very surprised to see it's ranked number one for restaurants in Bristol.

I find the food a bit hit and miss. I've had an amazing pasty there one time (you could really taste the freshness of the ingredients), but the sausage rolls are consistently poor, in my opinion, with greasy pastry and over-powering seasoning (usually aniseed tasting) that detracts from the meat flavours. I also had some sort of egg/bacon (very fatty bacon) monstrosity that I couldn't finish.

The cakes look good and the bread is standard fare. It is pot-luck what will be available when you go in, mind, and the selection is often small.

The staff are friendly enough and the venue is open-plan so you can see the bakers at work.

It's nice enough and there's no harm in popping in if you're in the vicinity, but don't expect to be blown away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank craigodile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A gem of a find. Well worth making a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

So many favourite cakes it's hard to make a choice. Daily croissants delivered to work and great coffee too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hart's Bakery also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Hart's Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing