We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Sunday Lunch”
Review of Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro - CLOSED

Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro
Price range: $5 - $46
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Cherry Duck is a central retreat for those in search of quality food and drinks in a relaxed atmosphere. We prise ourselves in offering freshly prepared local food, elegantly presented, at great value. Our drinks list makes us an ideal venue to enjoy our AL Fresco areas with a sun trap terrace to the front of the venue and benches on the harbour to the rear. Inside we have a top cocktail bar and classy dining space that is unfussy but refined.We are ideally situated within minutes of Bristol's main central attractions which makes us a great place to meet before heading off in to the city, or indeed after a day of sightseeing. Our quality food and beverages and attentive service, offering wine recommendations to match your food and friendly table service have put us in the running for 5 of Bristol's Good Food Awards this year. We are shortlisted for Best Restaurant, Best New Restaurant, Best Wine List, Best Front of House and also our head chef and owner Jack Bain is nominated for Best Chef.We strive to make every visitor to Cherry Duck feel in comfort and ease and are proud to have provided special experiences for so many people.
Stoke-on-trent
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We dined at the Cherry Duck for Sunday lunch and the whole experience was fantastic. The food was well presented and tasted superb. We were adjacent to the open kitchen so could see the chefs preparing the food and serving it at the pass. It was all remarkably calm and effortless and a far cry from the chefs on TV with no profanities and shouts of "yes chef" every time they asked for something. The calmness culminated in three wonderful meals that were attentively served by the waitress.

For starters I had the butternut squash soup which was amazing, the pork roast dinner (pork was beautifully cooked and melted in your mouth) and the almond cake for pudding (smaller portion size for just £2 is a great idea). My wife had the mussels and chips which she raved about and cheese and biscuits with a great selection of quality cheeses. I plumped for the Shiraz wine which although a little more than I would normally pay was the right decision. It was absolutely superb and well worth the money.

All in all we had a great time and I would concur that the reputation of the Cherry Duck judging by all the positive tripadvisor reviews is more than justified. Delicious food, superb wine, knowledgable staff and skilful (and calm!) chefs. If you are dining in Bristol and it's not at the Cherry Duck then you are missing out on a treat.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireSage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, Owner at Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Sage,

Thank you for your support of Cherry Duck Bistro and for your very positive 5* review. I would like to inform you that we have relaunched under a new name and concept; IL BACARO venetian bar and kitchen. We offer a great range of Italian Tapas, antipasti, steaks, whole fresh fish and as always great drinks and service.

WE WOULD LIKE TO OFFER YOU +1 A FREE GLASS OF PROSECCO (or wine/beer!) if you come down to visit us. Just flash this message and we shall be glad to welcome you in to our new look venue.

We are currently open Wednesday to Sunday from 11 serving food all day. If you visit before 7pm we have a great lunch and early bird option whereby you can enjoy home-baked bread, olives and dips, a mixed antipasti to start and two Cicchetti (Italian Tapas) of choice for only £10. This makes a great light lunch for 2 or a substantial meal for 1! We offer 2 for 1 cocktails from 3pm-10pm daily made by our top cocktail bartenders, live music every Friday from 5pm and good times to be had always!

Thank you again and kind regards,

Jack Bain
Director/ Head Chef
IL BACARO
0117 3292910
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    119
    28
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Positives”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Excellent service: friendly and attentive. I found the lunch menu to be slightly underwhelming and wasn't actually overly impressed by my chicken and chorizo baguette. Mean filling of Pre sliced chorizo served in a what seemed like a co-op French stick. The anti-pasti offered a generous selection of nibbles which were all fine. The poached eggs and hollandaise sauce however was a thing of absolute beauty. I look forward to sampling the evening menu.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peteboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
239 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful Food”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We ate in the Cherry Duck in late October, having selected the restaurant based upon the Trip Advisor reviews and the fact that it was within easy walking distance of the Hilton Doubletrees where we were staying.

The food presented was of a very high standard and the meal was one of the best we have had in any restaurant, in any country in recent years.

The menu has a limited number of choices for each course but each offering leapt out from the menu as being original and potentially interesting. For starters, my wife went with Duck Liver Parfait and I selected the Butternut Squash soup; for mains and puddings we both chose Pheasant followed by White Chocolate Parfait.

Each plate was expertly presented, delivered to the table with unfussy excellence by a knowledgeable, friendly and helpful waitress and the flavours were exquisite.

Our dread is of restaurants that care more for the look of the food than they do for feeding their customers but the Cherry Duck does not fall into this trap; clearly it has a high regard for presentation but couples this with sensible portions and food that is a delight to the palate.

Given the quality of the service and the food the price, at £28.50 for three courses, represents really good value and the restaurant has resisted the temptation to "load" unduly the price of its soft drinks, wines and extras such as bread.

I will have no hesitation in revisiting this restaurant and I am already planning our next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SnaithviaCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, Owner at Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear SnaithviaCardiff,

Thank you for your support of Cherry Duck Bistro and for your very positive 5* review. I would like to inform you that we have relaunched under a new name and concept; IL BACARO venetian bar and kitchen. We offer a great range of Italian Tapas, antipasti, steaks, whole fresh fish and as always great drinks and service.

WE WOULD LIKE TO OFFER YOU +1 A FREE GLASS OF PROSECCO (or wine/beer!) if you come down to visit us. Just flash this message and we shall be glad to welcome you in to our new look venue.

We are currently open Wednesday to Sunday from 11 serving food all day. If you visit before 7pm we have a great lunch and early bird option whereby you can enjoy home-baked bread, olives and dips, a mixed antipasti to start and two Cicchetti (Italian Tapas) of choice for only £10. This makes a great light lunch for 2 or a substantial meal for 1! We offer 2 for 1 cocktails from 3pm-10pm daily made by our top cocktail bartenders, live music every Friday from 5pm and good times to be had always!

Thank you again and kind regards,

Jack Bain
Director/ Head Chef
IL BACARO
0117 3292910
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent flavours at a reasonable price”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the basis on its TA review and its proximity to our hotel. We were prepared to be disappointed but it turned out to be a surprisingly good find. As a venue it is small and potentially intimate with a brief, but surprisingly varied menu that seemed to cater for all tastes. There is an open kitchen that faces into the restaurant so you can see how freshly prepared the meals are if that is your want; conversely if you want to enjoy dinner away from such sights and sounds you need to ensure you are placed towards the back/riverside of the restaurant.

All the meals we had were excellently presented and very tasty. The wine menu also included some good, hearty Spanish wines at a reasonable price. In fact the whole experience was excellent value and left a positive impression. My one minor criticism is that the layout is very linear and in some places gave the impression of being in a corridor, but they have made the best out of the limited space available. We would definitely return the next time we are in Bristol.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, Owner at Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Nigel,

Thank you for your support of Cherry Duck Bistro and for your very positive 4* review. I would like to inform you that we have relaunched under a new name and concept; IL BACARO venetian bar and kitchen. We offer a great range of Italian Tapas, antipasti, steaks, whole fresh fish and as always great drinks and service.

WE WOULD LIKE TO OFFER YOU +1 A FREE GLASS OF PROSECCO (or wine/beer!) if you come down to visit us. Just flash this message and we shall be glad to welcome you in to our new look venue.

We are currently open Wednesday to Sunday from 11 serving food all day. If you visit before 7pm we have a great lunch and early bird option whereby you can enjoy home-baked bread, olives and dips, a mixed antipasti to start and two Cicchetti (Italian Tapas) of choice for only £10. This makes a great light lunch for 2 or a substantial meal for 1! We offer 2 for 1 cocktails from 3pm-10pm daily made by our top cocktail bartenders, live music every Friday from 5pm and good times to be had always!

Thank you again and kind regards,

Jack Bain
Director/ Head Chef
IL BACARO
0117 3292910
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic food!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I went here for my graduation dinner, after having looked at the reviews from here, and it doesn't disappoint! At the time, it was £25 per head for a 3-course meal and the quality of the food and the flavours were top notch! The staff were also very friendly and helpful; we had to eat early so I phoned up to make a reservation at 6pm (I think it was). The chap I spoke to informed us that they usually they don't fire up the kitchen until 6:30pm (or half an hour later than whatever time it was that I wanted to reserve for) but that they could make an exception and that it would be fine!

If you're looking for a quality restaurant with great service, but without breaking the bank, look no further!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack B, Owner at Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro, responded to this review, June 2, 2015
Dear Andrew,

Thank you for your support of Cherry Duck Bistro and for your very positive 5* review. I would like to inform you that we have relaunched under a new name and concept; IL BACARO venetian bar and kitchen. We offer a great range of Italian Tapas, antipasti, steaks, whole fresh fish and as always great drinks and service.

WE WOULD LIKE TO OFFER YOU +1 A FREE GLASS OF PROSECCO (or wine/beer!) if you come down to visit us. Just flash this message and we shall be glad to welcome you in to our new look venue.

We are currently open Wednesday to Sunday from 11 serving food all day. If you visit before 7pm we have a great lunch and early bird option whereby you can enjoy home-baked bread, olives and dips, a mixed antipasti to start and two Cicchetti (Italian Tapas) of choice for only £10. This makes a great light lunch for 2 or a substantial meal for 1! We offer 2 for 1 cocktails from 3pm-10pm daily made by our top cocktail bartenders, live music every Friday from 5pm and good times to be had always!

Thank you again and kind regards,

Jack Bain
Director/ Head Chef
IL BACARO
0117 3292910
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing