We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant evening”
Review of Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro - CLOSED

Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro
Price range: $5 - $46
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cherry Duck is a central retreat for those in search of quality food and drinks in a relaxed atmosphere. We prise ourselves in offering freshly prepared local food, elegantly presented, at great value. Our drinks list makes us an ideal venue to enjoy our AL Fresco areas with a sun trap terrace to the front of the venue and benches on the harbour to the rear. Inside we have a top cocktail bar and classy dining space that is unfussy but refined.We are ideally situated within minutes of Bristol's main central attractions which makes us a great place to meet before heading off in to the city, or indeed after a day of sightseeing. Our quality food and beverages and attentive service, offering wine recommendations to match your food and friendly table service have put us in the running for 5 of Bristol's Good Food Awards this year. We are shortlisted for Best Restaurant, Best New Restaurant, Best Wine List, Best Front of House and also our head chef and owner Jack Bain is nominated for Best Chef.We strive to make every visitor to Cherry Duck feel in comfort and ease and are proud to have provided special experiences for so many people.
Yatton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very pleasant evening”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Went here last night 14th June. A small restaurant with a good menu, everything freshly prepared and from where we sitting we could see most of this preparation. Good wine list, and not too expensive. Good service. Would have been nice to sit outside on the river side of the restaurant, but with this awful summer we are having so far that was not going to happen. Definitely would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

456 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    119
    28
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best food so far”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went to the Cherry Duck for my partner's birthday and loved this place. The staff could not have been more friendly and were very attentive. Food was amazing, the main course of guinea fowl was a generous portion and really was 5 star quality, and the starter and dessert were also a perfect size as you wouldn't have wanted too much as food was so rich and delicious. There were only 2 chefs on the night and they did an amazing job. Although this place is a little hidden it is definitely worth a visit. Certainly the best food we have had in Bristol so far!
A couple of travellers - Chris and Danielle

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must visit”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I dare you to find anywhere that provides such a stunning food experience at such a reasonable price. A perfect, concise seasonable menu --- with fresh flavours and perfect combinations. Why would you want to enjoy food anywhere else.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“British gastronomy at its best”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Thanks Tripadvisor. What a great find. Small venue, small menu, big results. Great food, simple pricing policy, good drink selections. Shows what can be done with a talented chef and focused approach. Service spot on. Seasonal food transformed into a brilliant choice. Lamb was soft and sweet. Chocolate fondant perfectly melting and perfectly sized. This place deserves its #1 status.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Buckskernow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on Avon
1 review
“Outstanding food & service!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I visited here last Saturday evening after having read all the good reviews. From the moment we sat down the waiter was attentative, he even rustled me up a cocktail that wasn't on the menu which tasted divine! Nothing was too much trouble. The food was beautifully presented and certainly lived up to its reputation. I had the lamb for main which was cooked to perfection. My husband ordered the cheese board for desert and he told the waiter it was the best he'd ever tasted! We're so glad we went to The Cherry Duck and hope to return soon. If you're after a restaurant that serves quality food well this ones a winner!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nerynoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cherry Duck Harbourside Bistro also viewed

 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing