We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food with great service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creole Brasserie - CLOSED

Creole Brasserie
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: French, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Creole Brasserie is the only Restaurant in Bristol to create fresh,unique, traditional, and yet very contemporary Creole, Cajun and Carribean cuisine.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food with great service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Creole Brasserie is a favourite of mine in Bristol. The food is delicious and the fact that the owners, Abi (Chef) and Frederick (Front of house and wine guru), are so friendly and welcoming makes each visit an experience. My last visit finished with a couple of glasses of wine chatting with the two of them for a good hour or so. It must be the friendliest restaurant I've been to for a good while.

Favourites off the Menu must be the Jerk Pork Belly and Jambalaya (Chorizo, Chicken, Prawns and Mussels) with one of the desserts a must, if you can manage it.

The wine is also worth mentioning; Though I can only speak for the reds, its a well rounded and good value list and they do one of the better house reds I've had in my time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NomnomnomBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    8
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing, and brilliant front of house manager/owner. Brilliant chef”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a birthday lunch - party of 9!. Best place I have been for a very, very long time. Decor is simple but classic. Lovely views over Cotham Hill/Redland. Nothing was too much trouble.....(even people changing their minds after drinks orders placed). Nice leisurely lunch

We travelled by train (around every 40 minutes during the day). £4.00 return! probably the parking would have been getting on for that - plus we could all have a drink

We went with adults with learning disabililties, and the level of respect they were shown was amazing (and their names were all remembered). None of this asking the carer what they wanted - great time and patience was demonstrated

Not sure if the food would be suitable for young children - and we should have asked if there was a separate child menu (for future reference)

Lovely place to go back to for a special occasion

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food! Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

A new place on whiteladies! We decided to try it and were not disappointed! Try the JFC! The sweet potato fries were awesome and the crab gratan was great! Our waiter was a total pro and made our evening superb! Definitely something different in Bristol! Overall we give it 10/10

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscarchamberssmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcome to the neighbourhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Apart from the spare ribs that defo need some work the rest of the meal was exceptional with service to match. The jambalaya was the right side of seriously spicy and the pork belly crackled and melted in all the right places. Looking forward to coming again soon

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Imbigmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Bigger portions please!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had a lovely meal here but came away feeling a little disappointed. The food is excellent but portions are not generous, this meant that even those of us who usually only manage 2courses had 3 and more wine was needed. The result was a lovely meal but a hefty bill. Saying that we would still recommend a visit .

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emsieb39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Creole Brasserie also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing