We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sublime”
Review of Wilks Restaurant

Wilks Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 1,595 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Welcome to wilks. We are a modern, vibrant restaurant on Chandos road in Redland, Bristol. We offer creative, accomplished cooking at affordable prices, attentive, knowledgeable service from friendly staff and a relaxed, informal dining room. We champion all that it is local; farmers, growers, suppliers, even local artists who show their work in our restaurant. We also offer food for home. Everything you need for your dinner at home; bread, soups, mains, desserts, chutneys, wines and more.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Sublime”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We ordered from the ‘set’ lunch menu and very good value it was. We also ordered a crab bisque from the a la carte as an extra starter which tasted great but looked like cold coffee in a bowl. This was the only visual disappointment as my set menu starter of asparagus salad was amazing. It looked too good to spoil by eating it. It tasted as good as it looked. My main of lamb was perfectly cooked. Given how delicious the starter and mains had been, it seemed silly to miss desert. Desert was wonderful as well. Overall, I have never had food that looked so good and tasted even better.

I hadn’t been looking forward to going as we were fans of Culinaria and before that, Markwicks, but the new restaurant offers a refreshing approach and is a worthy successor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyP_in_Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    86
    38
    17
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Amazing and creative food and excellent service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Wilks is an amazing find in Bristol. Further from the beaten path and certainly worth a visit. The food is creative in its texture and flavors: where else can you have a black olive and caramel thin biscuit topping your starter? Meats are perfectly cooked, deserts are a delight of different tastes. Not to mention the restaurant's atmosphere and excellent service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ptrcmrnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wow! Best restaurant in Bristol!”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This has to be the best restaurant in bristol. The food was incredible, as was the service. This is the second time I've been to Wilks and it certainly won't be the last!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Nice but not promissing service”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

By excelent reviews on tripadvisor , we decided try it Saturday night, the food was nice and excelent decor but the service was very slow and we were waited more than 45 minutes , it was not busy .overall was a good experience just need to improve the service !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jammybirminghm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Curses!”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I had hoped that by NOT writing on Tripadvisor about Wilks, I'd be able to continue to enjoy it without necessarily booking in advance! But clearly, other eaters have had great experiences there too and couldn't not write about it!

So here goes: After Culinaria - which did the best French cooking in Bristol, if not the whole Southwest - closed, we thought 'Oh dear, now where can we go for really good food?' Within a few months it was clear that Wilks, which took over the Chandos Rd. site formerly occupied by Culinaria, was performing to Culinaria standards. That is, it used the best fresh, often local, produce, prepared and served in a clear, appetizing way, following fashion when it suited the food, but unafraid to buck trends when they were just trendy. Wine lists were thoughtful and well-chosen. Service was professional and friendly. Prices were reasonable - good value especially for lunch or early evening, when a special menu is available.

After about a dozen outings I think that Wilks has shaken off the 'Culinaria' heritage - and surpassed it. Service is always excellent; menus are just sufficiently varied to reflect the season and the chef's skills are evident in every aspect of the menu - from hors d'oeuvres to desserts. Every mouthful is succulent and beautifully flavoured - whether ian amuse-bouche or a 'banana mousse' dessert. The care taken by 'Madame' in seating and attending to us is to be wondered at: how does she (and her waiting staff) know just when they are needed and when we need to be left alone? I don't know, but they do. Whether the restaurant is full or less so, they are always ready to be of help.

Recently, we noted that more seating has been accommodated, and that the 'take-away' freezer, with its excellent dishes (stews especially) has gone. Oh well, I guess that means we will just have to go to Wilks more often, rather than rely on one of their take-outs!

Highlights this year have included the asparagus starter (dressed nwith peashoots) and the guineafowl.. Oh and the Eton mess which isn't messy at all (perhaps that's why the menu had it as 'Eaton..'

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthandKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilks Restaurant also viewed

Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 

Been to Wilks Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing