We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pint with super thai quick menu”

The Old Fish Market
Ranked #192 of 1,765 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: At the centre of Bristol’s old town, The Old Fish Market provides fresh food and perfectly poured pints - as well as a wide range of whiskies and gins - to the whole city. Whether you drop by for our exclusive express lunches or for the regular live music, you won’t regret it.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you are looking for a truely authentic thai restaurant then avoid, but if you would like to see thai pub grub then this place is superb. A good range of fuller beers, a brilliant pint of Guinness and lovely little thai menu. Will return over and over. Very busy for sports.

Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishMarket, General Manager at The Old Fish Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

We are now no longer serving thai food and have had a full refurbishment, please give us a try some time soon to try out the new food and surroundings!

Thank you for the review!

Many thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 243 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you like sport and want to see the big sporting events the old fish markets your place
It's ok but a bit basic beers good,never eaten there

Thank collking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishMarket, General Manager at The Old Fish Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

We are now no longer serving thai food and have had a full refurbishment, please give us a try some time soon to try out the new food and surroundings!

Thank you for the review!

Many thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I would open by saying that no, screaming blokes that smell of sweat and stale beer are NOT my thing, and so the Old Fish Market suits my partner and I, because the volume of cries of victory or frustration are within bearable reason, the blokes are not the unwashed, she'll-suited kind and the place is reasonably clean, for a pub. The food is fairly standard Thai fare, with a sprinkling of burgers and a few specials. Almost enough choice for vegetarians, with many dishes available with fried tofu, instead of meat or fish, and at least three gluten-free options. you order at the counter, so remember to specifically ask the waitress to check which are for gluten-free. Regrettably, the excellent Masaman Curry is not, but I know the Pad Thai and Sweet and Sour are. The booths at the back of the restaurant are nice and quiet, unless you get a loud bunch. The pub is graced by a most excellent frieze depicting the Bristol fish market, way back in some unspecified past, and it's a pleasure to sit and scan the view for all the little stories in it... Almost a work of art! Try the excellent Honeydew beer, lovely drink, and not too strong or too weak.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GeaVox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishMarket, General Manager at The Old Fish Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

We are now no longer serving thai food and have had a full refurbishment, please give us a try some time soon to try out the new food and surroundings!

Thank you for the review!

Many thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm a big fan of London Pride ale and being a Fullers pub this feels like a little piece of London in the centre of Bristol! Great ales, really friendly bar staff and great Thai food as well as lots of seating space in a great location. A great place to meet up with mates in central Bristol - and one fo the very few really good places to get a decent pint of real ale in the central Bristol area!

Thank Ajit V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishMarket, General Manager at The Old Fish Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

We are now no longer serving thai food and have had a full refurbishment, please give us a try some time soon to try out the new food and surroundings!

Thank you for the review!

Many thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

So good we visited on each of the two days we stayed in Bristol. The Fullers beer is well kept and has good flavour. Drinks were reasonably priced. We ate here on one day and were impressed with the food. Friendly staff and traditional surroundings. Well worth a visit.

Thank kby121148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldFishMarket, General Manager at The Old Fish Market, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2016

We are now no longer serving thai food and have had a full refurbishment, please give us a try some time soon to try out the new food and surroundings!

Thank you for the review!

Many thanks
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Fish Market also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to The Old Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing