We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY NICE CURRY HOUSE”

Coronation Curry House
Ranked #73 of 1,611 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $56
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“REALLY NICE CURRY HOUSE”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The food was great the manager was really frendly the only down sides was the toilets was through the kitchen and the food as a bit pricey we came down from manchester and found this hiden gem

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    48
    9
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Curry I've ever tasted!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We came to Bristol, visiting friends and was recommended this place by them! They said it was the best curry house in Bristol by far, so I had high expectations when we arrived. The restaurant itself is very small, with a toilet located in the backyard to which you have to walk through the kitchens. This only added to the experience of the place and goes to show they have nothing to hide. When the food came out I honestly haven't tasted anything like it!! We had the kushboo curry and a dansak, both were out of this world with flavour and the perfect balance of spice. Couldn't reccomend this place enough and will certainly be visiting again next time I'm up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smaller14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No.1 Really...how did you manage that..”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Got to the restaurant at 6.30PM and the service was prompt although there was only one waiter...the food was average and the bar was reasonable...very small in size,actually too small to be cozy....ordered a chicken dish and it was no special over the moon curry...this restaurant is clearly over rated having said that I have been to worst curry houses....good curry house AGREED. best in Bristol HARD TO BELIEVE...

On the other hand the restaurant is authentic and there is some effort gone in to making the food rather than making it with same sauce with different variations...good luck guys well done....

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Love Curry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent service with excellent food!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Me and my partner came from Cardiff to stay in Bristol for a couple of nights and we did not know where to go for food.

We saw the Coronation Curry House on trip advisor so we thought we would give it a try. On arrival, the restaraunt did not look like much but never judge a book by its cover.

The welcome that we had was great and the service throughout the meal was even better, it was outstanding and incredibly friendly. Our food was amazing, starting from the popadums and dips, all the way through to the end. I would definitely recommend this restaraunt.

Thank you to everyone at Coronation Curry House and to Neelish (excuse the spelling) for providing us with an excellent experience!

Adam + Elle

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamLDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“this is not the best Indian resturant in Bristol...”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

...yes the staff are attentive and very keen to please and it is 'quirky', as in you have to walk through a kitchen with grease caked floor - trying not to slip - to an outside lavatory. it is not good food and it is not good value, the reason for not rating it terrible is due to the staff and their efforts, although even on that one I felt they tried to cheat us with the water (noted below) and were maybe embarrassed at being rumbled.

I arrived at the resturant as a result of seeing it at the top of the trip advisor list, I should have carried on driving. The starters were average at best, the kebab meat was not identifiable. asked for a bottle of still water, the bottle was brought to the table opened and 1/3 full with a glass (larger then the bottle) full of water. that rang bells as did my daughter spotting something floating in the water. asked for another bottle and they had run out? was replaced with a soft drink and not charged for the water

Things improved with the mains. chicken was ok, the lamb was grey and the lentils were probably the best of the food along with the accompanying naans which were reasonably well made.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Aamir A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coronation Curry House also viewed

 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Coronation Curry House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing