We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean and reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Ranked #12 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2014

Only stayed here for one night although I have stayed here previously and again I was happy with the service and staff.

Breakfast was OK, although the hot dishes amounted to only link sausages, scrambled egg and cold beans.

All in all, though, good, clean hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Advisor_1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear Mick,
Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you were happy with the staff in the hotel, we do offer 3 hot options for breakfast, sausages, scrambled egg and beans. I do apologise that you found the beans cold; I will ensure that this is discussed with the team to prevent this happening again.
Kind Regards
Erica Stoodley
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 760 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

We managed to get this on a great deal in March this year. Although it is no where near the city centre, you are a 10 minute walk (or 5 minute drive) to Filton Abbey Wood railway station for quick journeys into Bristol.

The hotel was spacious and nice, staff friendly and the breakfast was the standard with the Holiday Inns.

If you can get it on a great deal, is a lovely quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr_Whippy19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback, it’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay. The team work very hard to keep a high level of service in the hotel, and will be delighted to hear your comments. I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future.
Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed 1 night in Bristol as were just staying the night in order to go on to Bath and Stonehenge the following day. This hotel is in the north part of Bristol, not at the city center, and is a bit difficult to get to. Good luck if you don't have a GPS to follow. We did and still had to make a few attempts to get to it. It's down a restricted road as the Ministry of Defense has a large fenced property next to it.

We had a double room (note bed size in the UK is smaller than US standards). It was a bit cozy for 2 people who enjoy their space when sleeping but at least it was fairly comfortable. The room was definitely small and basic but had the conveniences of standard hotel rooms and was clean and quiet for our brief stay. The biggest complaint would be the quality of the towels and the bath gel they provide. The gel just slides right off, won't lather and it was the only soap option in the bathroom for the shower. Also the towels are incredibly rough. It was like drying off with a sheet of sandpaper. The toilet tissue and facial tissues are also incredibly then so you find yourself using more. I've never understood this, if you provide a cheap product to save money, you are actually spending more as guests have to USE more to make up for the thinness.

The room did come with free wifi and also a complimentary breakfast that had continental choices along with standard English items (sausage, baked beans, eggs).

The hotel does not serve food and there are limited restaurants close by so this is not a good location if you do not have a car. We were told there was a restaurant across the road, Frankie & Benny's that would offer a 15% discount to hotel guests, which we dined at (I do not recommend).

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2014

Dear smariel, Thank you for your recent review. The hotel welcomes all feedback from our guests as we are always looking to improve our service. The hotel is located north of Bristol which has easy access to the city via bus or train. The hotel has a few pubs and restaurants in the local area including Frankie and Benny's where our guests can avail of discount. The hotel beds are a standard UK double size, which may be smaller than USA sizes, I am sorry that you found the standard of bathroom items unsatisfactory, I take your comments on board and take them back to the housekeeping department.
Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

It is cheap. 50£/ night and you enjoy a buffet breakfast. The room 344 and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Perhaps if we had had car I would have rated it higher.

Something negative:
The location! Do not book here if you do not have car and you do not want to live a nightmare! There is no good connection with Bristol city centre and you will waste your time trying to get to some places by bus or train...

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elenvlnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear elenvlnc, Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased you enjoyed the free breakfast that the hotel offers. I am sorry that you found it difficult with the location of the hotel. The hotel is situated north of Bristol. But there are regular busses into the city centre.
Thank you again for your feedback
Kind Regards,
Erica Stoodley
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel does not serve dinner in the evening but there is a pub / restaurant onsite and we found the meal there to be excellent and good value. Frankies and Bennies nearby offer a 15% discount if you show your hotel keycard. The breakfast at the hotel is buffet style with the usual hot offering of sausage, beans and scrambled egg and continental fruit, yogurt, cheese, croissants and cereals. As in all these type of hotels the toaster never toasts enough the first time through, then burns it if you put it through again. The layout of the breakfast food does not logically flow and guests were constantly crossing the room from one side to the other.
The up side was the bed was comfortable, the room quiet and a good nights sleep had by all.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatashaSenior, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Dear David,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your feedback. We have recently had some changes to the layout of the breakfast area which we review regularly, taking guest feedback into consideration, to ensure that breakfast runs smoothly.
I am glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.Kind Regards, Natasha Senior - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Everything you could need for a one night stay at a great price. Staff very friendly and service was great. We were visiting family so location was ok for us between airport and them, very clean and nice breakfast too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Dear Dave, Thank you for your recent review, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We needed somewhere to stay overnight before I had surgery at Bristol Spire hospital. This hotel did the job. We weren't looking for any frills just a clean, comfortable room.

First off we did have some trouble finding the place and particularly how to get to the entrance but when we did arrive our check in was fast and efficient. Our room was basic - I wouldn't want to spend to much time here, a typical "chain" where everything looks the same but if you are just looking for somewhere to sleep its fine. Although we were at the front of the hotel we didn't experience any traffic noise.

Good value for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxGlitterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erica S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2014

Thank you for your recent feedback, I am pleased you were comfortable in the hotel; I am pleased that you felt you had value for money in the hotel and I do hope you visit the hotel again in the future. Kind Regards, Erica Stoodley, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
3.6 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Ibis Bristol Temple Meads Quay
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Bristol Filton Hotel
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North

Address: New Road | Bristol Parkway Business Park, Bristol BS34 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bristol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $56 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North hotel if you're looking for a good value hotel close to Bristol city centre. Our modern red-brick hotel boasts fresh contemporary interiors and is conveniently located within Bristol Parkway Business Park, 5 miles from Bristol's lively city centre and 15 miles from Bristol Airport. Getting around is a breeze - Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North is just a short drive from the nearby M4 and M5 motorways, and less than a mile from Bristol Parkway train station. It's just 5 miles to Bristol city centre for vibrant nightlife, cosmopolitan shopping and eclectic dining. Cabot Circus shopping mall is home to numerous boutiques and cafes, as well as a 13-screen cinema showing the latest blockbuster movies. Head for Bristol's Quayside area to find bustling restaurants and trendy bars. Wake up to our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and choose from a tasty selection of both hot and continental items. You can prepare for your meeting over coffee in the peaceful lounge area or meet and mingle with colleagues over evening drinks before heading to your air conditioned guestroom. Wi-Fi is free and is available throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing