We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel Staff and Disabled Facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel Staff and Disabled Facilities”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My wife and I were delighted with the warm welcome we received when we arrived at the hotel. Access into the hotel was easy for a wheelchar so we arrived with no hassle. The staff were really helpful in checking us in and when we entered the specially adapted room for disabled people we were very impressed. The room itself was pleasant and had ample space for wheelcair access. The bathroom was a fully fitted wet room with easily operated shower, a fitted shower stool and plenty of hand grab rails, all in the correct locations. We were advised that there are 7 other similar rooms in the hotel. The hotel is suitably located near the Bristol Parkway Railway Station. It is also in a quiet location.
We would like to thank the hotel staff for looking after us so well and we would like to give a special thank you to Angela who looked after us so well. We would recomend this hotel to all disabled and non disabled people.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernest C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivaBagdon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review. I am really pleased to hear that you found our hotel facilities to high standard and really appreciate your comments regarding Angela. We are very proud of Angela's abilities to provide great customer service and we will make sure her efforts are rewarded.

Thank you once again and we all hope to see you back at the Holiday Inn Express Bristol North in the near future.

Kind regards
Daiva Bagdonaite
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    282
    123
    29
    8
See reviews for
138
205
44
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Good points: friendly staff and clean rooms. Bad points: No free Internet in the rooms (12.95 for 24 hrs) and not well signposted off the main road. Aircon was either blowing cold air at me and then hot air - one extreme to the other. Have stayed in better holiday inn express (have stayed in better travelodges to be honest)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATemple, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting this review following on from your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found the staff friendly and the room clean. I am sorry that the in room WIFI did not suit your needs however we do offer free WIFI in the bar area. I am not aware of any issues with the air conditioning temperature controls but I will ensure that our maintenance technician checks them in all the rooms while he is doing his checks.
Yours Sincerely
Andrew Temple
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I have stayed at various holiday inns/expresses and have yet to find one that 'stands out' among their chain. This hotel was no different and was pretty ordinary. The restaurant across the way is good and the breakfast at this hotel is not bad. All in all - nothing stands out for me...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chri55ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I am writing to inform you on congratulating a member of your staff (Jack). One late Tuesday evening I arrived at your hotel in desperation of finding a hotel. Firstly he apologized and informed me that all your rooms were sold. At that point I was ready to pick up my belongings and leave when the kind gentleman offered to ring several hotels for me. I was in Bristol on business and therefore did not know the area very well so this was such a kind gesture. He eventually found me a hotel at the Great Western hotel in Henbury named The Henbury Lodge. Not only was this hotel rated 2nd on Tripadvisor it had a restaurant on the side which meted my needs. Your member of staff got the rate down to £95.99 and then went on by printing me off directions from your hotel to theirs. I was astonished at the level of knowledge he had on the local area and the information he was able to provide with in such a quick and professional manner. I am sure his customer service is a credit to your team.

Room Tip: ''Staff here are very helpful''
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laura p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivaBagdon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very proud of Jack and his ability to attend to guests needs efficiently and professionally. I’m sorry to hear that we were unable to accommodate you that night but we hope to have you stay with us in the future.

Yours sincerely
Daiva Bagdonaite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Stayed one Saturday night in Feb 2012. Hotel is very clean and, although busy, was quiet. The room wasn't huge and while adequate for two, might have been a bit cramped if we had a third person using the sofa bed. A nice touch was the labelled 'firm' and 'soft' pillows - although the fact they they offered more than one wafer thin pillow per customer was a plus in itself. A clever feature was the bathroom door which could be pulled inward to 90 degrees to close in front of the toilet, which made the bathroom accessible when someone was using the loo. Buffet breakfast was better than expected with a reasonable range (basic cooked food, cereals, fruit juice, tea and coffee, croissants, rolls, muffins, toast). Plenty of car parking space available, however the hotel is appallingly signposted and I'm sure a not inconsiderable number of people unfamiliar with the area end up driving around looking for the entrance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaivaBagdon, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Holiday Inn Express Bristol North. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our complimentary hot option breakfast. We would like to thank you for your feedback, we will review the situation and hopefully this won't be an issue in the future.

Yours Sincerely
Daiva Bagdonaite
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Travellers who stay at HI Express will know exactly what to expect here. Everything is functional, clean and basic. On the downside my room had a badly stained sofa, the sink drained only very slowly and the TV remote didn't work - but the TV screen was so small and the channels so limited that this isn't really an issue anyway. Personally I don't like the soap/shampoo dispensers on the wall and I prefer a bath to a shower but all of this is now very standard across the HI Express range. On the upside the staff were friendly and the bar was open (and for once, for IHG, was reasonably priced).
This hotel is always fully booked Mo-Th night due to its proximity to MOD Abbey Wood, has some families and group (e.g. stag/hen) bookings Fr-Sa night and is absolutely deserted on Su night - so negotiate a special rate if staying at the week-end especially Sunday night.
There is a reasonable pub next door and a large Sainsbury right across the road.
Breakfast is pretty ghastly here - reconstituted eggs and sausages made from an unidentifiable animal (or vegetable, I wasn't quite sure) but the cereals, drinks and pastries are all OK and the free (Independent) newspapers are something to read while you munch.
The HI that is about a half mile away is a zillion times more comfortable but this hotel certainly fits the bill for an single overnight stop, especially if you're only sleeping here and either working or being entertained elsewhere.
The car park is free and the hotel is close to a busy roundabout but I wasn't a bit bothered about noise. The rooms have individual controls for heating.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Meon_Meerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on many occasions on business only because there is little choice because of where I work. The rooms are great, very clean and comfortable with good air-con although some have shocking rooftop views. It’s situated on major roundabout interchange in Filton so don’t expect peace and quiet.

The hotel doesn’t do food (other than breakfast) so you have to eat out in the evenings. The adjacent Fox Den Pub serves very nice food, but it does get a bit boring after a while. Bristol town centre will cost you £40 return by taxi so watch out for that.

Breakfast is canteen style slop but it should keep you going until lunchtime. My biggest and continuing disappointment with this hotel is that they still insist on charging exorbitant 12 hour rates (even though you may only need it for a couple of hours max!) for Wi-Fi access from your room when other major hotel chains are providing an increasingly free service. Although Wi-Fi is free in the bar area.

The Express HI seem to rely on a captive audience and given the choice, I would go elsewhere (which I may just consider next time), but for a short overnight it’s bearable.

Room Tip: Don't expect too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Crowhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
4.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
3.6 mi away
Future Inn Cabot Circus Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
4.1 mi away
Novotel Bristol Centre
Novotel Bristol Centre
#15 of 37 in Bristol
1,416 reviews
4.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North
Address: New Road | Bristol Parkway Business Park, Bristol BS34 8TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Bristol
#11 Family Hotel in Bristol
#13 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North hotel if you're looking for a good value hotel close to Bristol city centre. Our modern red-brick hotel boasts fresh contemporary interiors and is conveniently located within Bristol Parkway Business Park, 5 miles from Bristol's lively city centre and 15 miles from Bristol Airport. Getting around is a breeze - Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North is just a short drive from the nearby M4 and M5 motorways, and less than a mile from Bristol Parkway train station. The 2 modern meeting rooms at Holiday Inn Express Bristol-North can accommodate up to 34 people and there's plenty of complimentary onsite parking for your delegates. You can log on to free Wi-Fi internet throughout the hotel. It's just 5 miles to Bristol city centre for vibrant nightlife, cosmopolitan shopping and eclectic dining. Cabot Circus shopping mall is home to numerous boutiques and cafes, as well as a 13-screen cinema showing the latest blockbuster movies. Head for Bristol's Quayside area to find bustling restaurants and trendy bars. Wake up to our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and choose from a tasty selection of both hot and continental items. You can prepare for your meeting over coffee in the peaceful lounge area or meet and mingle with colleagues over evening drinks before heading to your air conditioned guestroom. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book direct with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bristol - North Hotel Bristol
Holiday Inn Bristol
Bristol Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing