We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,721)
Filter reviews
1,721 results
Traveler rating
615
752
252
63
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
615
752
252
63
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews car park sofa bed executive room road works train station sauna and steam room temple meads station good size chain hotel short walk reception area business trip per night excellent hotel comfortable stay reception staff city break
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 1,721 reviews
Reviewed May 19, 2019 via mobile

We had a reunion with 9 rooms booked. Rooms very comfortable and service really welcoming and kind. Everything was prepared for our arrival and staff very keen to assist.

Breakfast buffet was excellent.

Most of us stay away in hotels every week. At the price point this is a great value and well located hotel. Thank you so much.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Andyp917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDR14764, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2019

Thanks so much for your review, I am delighted that you had such a good stay with us and that the team were welcoming, friendly and helpful. Pleased to learn that you all enjoyed our breakfast as well. Looking forward to your next stay with us already, warm regards, David - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2019

glad we got the train as roadworks are a nightmare and also not told that extra £10 to park car at this hotel and car park very small, room good size and bed comfy, only trouble was hot in room so put air con on from 5pm to the next morning and didn't do anything, had it on fan 3 and temp of 5 degrees all this time but still made no difference, we didn't bother saying anything as room was hot but bearable but would not have been in summer, had room service and food was very good, breakfast is what lets this place down, only 2 staff on and had to wait for table to be cleaned then seated, all around tables just left with dirty dishes from previous people and were still like this when we left, the bacon was so smokey I couldn't eat it, had to wait ages for fried eggs to be brought out and then when got to the beans the pot just had juice so I couldn't be bothered to wait anymore, the whole of breakfast was a shambles and need more staff, hotel itself is around 15 min walk from town which is fine as away from the noise, so local shops close by, room was quiet, we would stay here again and use the train as very close to temple meads station and if air con not working and its summer I would say something, at check in was very polite

Room tip: go for the queen bed with sofa pull out as room is bigger
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank smokey1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain F, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2019

Many thanks for your feedback Smokey, glad to hear that overall you had a great stay however, we will certainly address your concern regarding the breakfast service albeit, I understand on this particular morning, we did have team members who were too unwell to work and advised us at 5am to which we were unable to source alternative members to replace them at that time. Please rest assured that this is certainly an isolated incident and I thank your for your understanding. I was also sorry to learn that the temperature of your bedroom was too warm despite all our rooms having opening windows, the air comforting system operates depending on the external temperature whereby it gradually kicks into a heating or cooling mode therefore, the easiest solution is to turn off the system in your bedroom completely. I am sure you can appreciate that the current United Kingdom temperatures have been very erratic recently which can be challenging for this system however, I am sure had you alerted us at the time then the team would have been able to fully advise you on the options to ensure service recovery. Regarding the car park, we do offer a large secure underground multi storey car park with 140 spaces for vehicles however, as you are aware, we are just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads railway station. We hope to see you again soon, warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Hotel is not as central as you may think, a good 15 minute walk to the main part. The room was a good size and bed was comfortable althoygh the scaffolding and building work outside make the rooms very dark and noisy. On arrival the water in the room was half used and not replaced

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank ultimatesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iain F, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2019

Many thanks for posting your review, glad to learn that you found the room to be comfortable although, I was sorry that perhaps you thought the hotel was not as central as you hoped despite we are only a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads, Cabot Circus and Bristol Old Town. Regarding the scaffolding, I can emphasize that externally the building is not looking its best whilst we carry out essential roof works however, this will be complete in the next couple of months. It is our hope that you will consider Novotel again in the future, warmest regards, Iain France - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

I stay in Bristol on business relatively frequently and have reviewed other options. This is my new favourite.

Hotel is close to the rail station (use side entrance rather than main to better navigate current roadworks in the general area).

Reception area is big and smart, room was comfortable and spacious, bar area very nice indeed. Breakfast was really good too.

Didn’t have dinner here, will try that next time. Indeed, will use this hotel for the remainder of 2019 stays.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank PD_469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDR14764, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2019

Thanks so much for your review, it is truly appreciated by all of the team and I am pleased to hear that we are your new favourite! Already looking forward to welcoming you back again soon, warm regards, David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2019

I stayed overnight in this hotel with my partner. The hotel is really a budget one and has no real frills or extras. That's fine if you're just looking for a place to sleep, but there are a few little niggles which would do with ironing out. Room service is extremely limited. The hairdryer is well hidden (in a little shelf underneath the desk) and the key cards routinely wipe and do not work.

That having been said, the staff are friendly and helpful, the breakfast was decent and the bed was comfortable (and had allergen-free bedding without having to request it, which was important for my partner).

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richthegrumpylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DAVIDR14764, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2019

Thanks for your review, it is very much appreciated. Sorry to read that you had trouble finding the hairdryer in your room and you found the room service menu to be limited, we do offer the full a la carte menu up until 10.45pm and then after this time it is slightly reduced. I would like to aplogise about the key cards, often, when they are placed in a guests pocket close to their phones they no longer work, my team should have told you this on check in so I will revisit this with them. Pleased to read that you found the staff to be friendly and the breakfast decent. Hope to welcome you back to Novotel again soon, warm regards, David - Guest Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews