We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have stayed here on a few occasions and to date haven't had a bad stay. I wouldn't say I am wowed by anything but equally you could do a lot worse.
The check in was slick, the room is exactly what you expect from a chain hotel with the usual amenities. The main issue is that it lacks any sort of personality but then again that may be comforting as you know what you are getting.
The room was clean and modern, the breakfast was exactly what you expect (a self service buffet) & the evening meal good value (I had the three course for £21 deal) if you have the offer.
The real positive was the restaurant staff who were attentive & very polite throughout.
The hotel is nice & close to the city centre (5/10 min walk) & offers car parking at a cost.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soundbites30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, especially regarding our restaurant staff, who will be delighted to know their efforts are appreciated. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    622
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
326
436
128
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What stands out about the Novotel is that everyone gives good service and is to be commended. I would, however, like to make special note of two dining room hostesses, Kasia and Elisa. They do their jobs with the utmost professionalism but what is more important to me is the smile on their faces when they greet me in the morning. They are so friendly, cheerful and accommodating! I use the Novotel for many reasons, but it is the presence of these ladies which makes my visits to the restaurant so enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for your review, I was delighted to read your comments about our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for business last week, easy to find, park, room service was nice and all the staff were superb. Looked and acted proud to be there. Most of them French/European, but spoke good English. Great stay!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WendyMarston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your comments about our staff, which I will ensure they all see. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We spent a Saturday night at this hotel with two children under the age of two. Excellent room, staff very helpful and proactive bringing in a cot. Cleaning OUTSTANDING, the room was spotless, Breakfast was excellent and good value.

Staff friendly and helpful. Parking was under the hotel which was very handy as torrential rain at the time.

I recommend this hotel to anyone, paid £100 including parking and breakfast, excellent value

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you also for your recommendation. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a two night stay with husband and 14 yr old son. Hotel was spotless, room very comfortable and even though we were overlooking the main road it was very quiet. Very good choice for breakfast, enough to fill you up until tea time! Novotel's policy of child prices up to age 16 is excellent as not many hotels in the area were offering family rooms. I would definitely return and recommend to others!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennaeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and recommendation, we are very proud of our family friendly policy. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

What a delightful hotel. Receptionist knew his job - polite, helpful and interested. Managed the process in an individualised way.

Room was great - not one mumble or grumble. Nice to have a small fridge with milk for tea. Good bed, good bed linen, effective shower and nice towels.

Breakfast room very pleasant. Good selection of hot and cold food. Staff that cared for the people and the environment.

Overall top marks.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NovotelBristolCentre, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel following your stay, I am delighted that you found everything to your liking. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing