We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed April 5, 2013

As going to Bristol for a few days for tourism, we wanted to spend a few nights in Novotel Bristol, as having past experience going to other Novotel hotels before in other places. And it was a reasonable good hotel. We found it hard to sleep though because the pillows were not very good quality, and some of the staff were grumpy, mainly the reception. On the good side, we found the gym, sauna and steam room adequate and relaxing, along with the Xbox, which was quite popular. The breakfast was great and the hotel is very clean, and you could never spot dirt whatsoever. The sofa bed for the children was comfortable and very good.It is a pity though it does not have a swimming pool. Parking is available outside the hotel and within, in which you'll have to pay 10 pounds for a whole day. To conclude, it was a great stay, and we were glad and happy that once again Novotel has kept its significance greatly in the UK, I would recommend this to everyone who want to have an exciting and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noorshihadeh00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,530)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

907 - 913 of 1,530 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

A good value and useful family hotel within walking distance of Bristol centre with better than expected food.
I stayed with three children in two rooms with interconnecting doors. They were clean and comfortable with the sofa converting to a pleasant small double bed for kids.
Be aware the difference between executive rooms and normal rooms is merely a better coffee maker, an iPod dock and a bath robe so don't waste to much money upgrading.
The big surprise at this hotel was the food at dinner. Although the dining area is quite bland the food was well prepared and cooked with god quality ingredients. Furthrmore with the offer of kids half price from main menu it had good choice and was well priced.
It was also refreshing to find a chain hotel at which staff had been trained to understand the difference in the wines they served.
This is a well run and managed hotel that provides good family accommodation within easy reach of Bristol centre and I will happily return.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing onto main road as can be quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ypxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that you enjoyed dining in the hotel. We are very lucky to have an excellent Chef, Andy Brooks, who is also developement chef for the company. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

4 start hotel?? Really? There is no wau factor what so ever, everything is very fair and square, not a single touch of luxury. X box is a nice touch but with just one game available, it takes away the excitement very quickly. Breakfast not really good value for money at all, seeing what was available we didn't bother. Set menu (besides normal restaurant menu) - two courses for £12, 3 for £15 was really welcomed but then again ,the menu remained exactly to same during the three days we stayed. Restaurant was not very well run at all, with just three busy tables we were turned away to wait at the bar due to "extremely busy" restaurant. Fair enough, the food did came out in pretty good time and was very tasty and nicely presented so compliments to the chef. The biggest disappointment was the room itself, we weren't asked whether we preferred bath or a shower to start with. The room was so basic, very business like, nothing cosy, nothing extra, no extra mile there whatsoever.The bathroom toiletries were of such poor quality, I appreciate Novotel is trying to do their bit for the environment by offering eco friendly products, but please, leave that as a choice for me to make for when I am home, don`t feed it me to me when I am on well deserved 3 days break away from home when I just want to feel little bit special!!
Otherwise, we felt the room was cold for our liking, with the air con blasting our 30 degree air it should have been toasty in no time but it was not.
Last of all, the parking charges are a rip off dear Novotel!
Positives are good central location, despite being on the main road the hotel is quiet and is very clean.
Tesco is 3 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanaH805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your feedback, I am very grateful that you have taken the time to review your stay in such detail and I will certainly work with my team to improve the areas that you mention. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This hotel is great for families. It's always clean, friendly and close to the city centre, breakfast is great, room service is quick and food ok. the Xbox in the foyer was 'awesome'. The only complaint I have is the heat in the bedrooms! The air conditioning is very noisy and didn't seem to cool the room.

This is our second stay here and will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daisyloulou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you very much for you kind comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Certainly lives upto the 4 star rating. Lovely staff, friendly service . Overall a very very good hotel! The restaurant is very good as well.
The location is very close to the city centre. The car parking facilities are within a multistorey car park but there are reserved places for Novotel customers.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank archanaawsare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete your review and I am especially pleased that you found our service to be friendly. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

stayed 24th march.had a small problem re dog charge but management soon sorted it out to my satisfaction. throughly enjoyed my stay staff very friendly and helpful. hotel immaculately clean. going to bristol later this year i will have no hesitation booking this hotel. norman mackie

Room Tip: only £15 to upgrade room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments Mr Mackie, we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in January. The rooms are spacious and there is (paid for) parking available behind the hotel if required. The hotel is large and the corridoors felt a little soulless but that is not unusual for a hotel of this type and size.

Room service food was fine and delivery was prompt. All staff encountered were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledPig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Thank you for your comments, I very much appreciate your feedback. Tim Howes, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,776 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $71 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing