We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, central location”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night, the room was a nice size, no bath but the shower was good, usual shampoo etc. Mini bar, although I didn't use the mini bar the milk was in the fridge for hot drinks, nice touch. Used the dining room for breakfast. Couldn't fault the service or the breakfast, everything possible you would want and of good quality.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejem57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    644
    210
    48
    31
See reviews for
337
453
128
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Having stayed at this hotel on several occasions I would highly recommend it. The staff were helpful and asked on arrival if all was ok with the room and were we happy with it. The location is fine too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank janetg0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Novotels are modern efficient and clean and this one was no exception. But what did set this one apart was the excellent food. Whether served in the bar or in the restaurant it is well worth going for one if the beef or tuna grills. The restaurant was booked out when I was there so must be popular! Only thing is that the immediate location is a bit dead although it is close to the station.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikMangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed the food in our hotel. We have recently changed the menu and the Griddled tuna with lemon couscous, one of the dishes you mention, is proving very popular. Our Head Chef Andy Brooks has also recently spent two weeks working alongside Thai chefs at one of our hotels in Manila and he has just introduced a range of authentic Thai curries which I would urge guests to try when they visit. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked 2 rooms here for family members on a Saturday night. The Superior Queen rooms with sofa bed were very clean and fairly large at a reasonably good rate of £70/room.
I paid £10 to park my car for just over 24 hours which was hassle free and cheaper than the alternatives.
Didn't eat breakfast as there are a lot of great cafes etc a short walk away in Bristol centre.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here, we appreciate your comments. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed in the Novotel recently with my mother as we were on a weekend break to Bristol and Bath and chose to stay in the Novotel as we got a good deal on Travelrepublic.ie. We stayed 2 nights and it had parking onsite which was great as we drove over from Ireland. However, they do charge £10 per day for parking. The Hotel was just around the corner from the Temple Meades Train Station which is fantastic for traveling out of town i.e. Bath (only 15minutes away by train (£14 in total for 2 people return - great value)).

We also ate in the hotel on the first evening and the meal was really nice and tasty with a lovely atmosphere. The only complaint I would have about the hotel is that we looked for a twin room which consists of a double bed and a bed that was a sofa bed - not too comfortable but as the room itself was clean, roomy and airy and for the price that we paid i really could not complain. There was an ice-maker just down from our room out on the hall which was an added bonus!! I would recommend this hotel to anybody. Great value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GREENWHITEGOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just stayed the one night as I was visiting the music venue The Tunnels. It was great for what we wanted as it was only a short walk with to the venue. The room itself was clean and comfortable but as it was facing the main road it was a little noisy through the night. If we went again we'd ask for the opposite side of the corridor which I would imagine would be quieter. Lovely breakfast in the morning with the usual full english, continental, fruit and cereal choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyWelshTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. Although the hotel is double glazed and are insulated by an accoustic seal, your assumption would be correct that the rooms facing the rear of the hotel are less exposed to noise from traffic. We hope to see you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed at the Novotel Bristol Centre yesterday on business. On arrival, we were greeted by a lovely member of staff - Anais (did I spell it right?), you were amazing.

We had 2 rooms reserved, don't ask me to explain but someone had checked in to the room that was booked for me. Apparently they had given the name the booking was in on arrival and had therefore been allowed to check in - reasonable, but very random!

We decided to upgrade from standard to executive rooms (£15 extra) because this included internet access (and free movies). I'll save you the details but I ended up in a lovely suite in the end. It was absolutely gorgeous. Spacious, separate wc in the lounge part of the room, espresso maker, free bottle of water in minibar, 2 TVs, bathrobe and slippers. The bed was large and comfortable. Tonnes of extra pillows located in the numerous wardrobes. The AC was brilliant but might a suggest a further duvet be made available for people like me who like to be super cosy?

The bathroom was gorgeous - power shower and separate bath, huge mirror, lovely toiletries and frankly, the cleaners are doing an amazing job - the bathroom sparkled.
There were some issues with the internet and the member of staff stayed 30 minutes beyond the end of my shift to help me sort it out. We called technical support, we were unable to resolve the problem but staff were absolutely amazing.

Had a lovely night's sleep, nice views of a quiet, tree-lined street.

Breakfast was a slightly pricey £13.99 but it was really great - Full English, porridge made to order, various juices, cereals etc. really, really nice.

Will stay here again when next in Bristol on business :).

Room Tip: If you need the internet, do upgrade to an executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayothamayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that Anais was able to turn things around despite the difficult start, for which I apologise. We hope to see you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing