We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas party in Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Christmas party in Bristol”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very helpful staff and management, rooms very clean and tidy. The bar and restaurant are good value though it's better to go out and explore

Good location in the city and accessible to all the good pubs in Corn street, Baldwin Street, Colston Av etc

If you're into the theater, this is a great location.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the lift or stair entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    644
    210
    48
    31
See reviews for
337
453
128
358
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

From Check in to Departure, this hotel was perfect... My only regret was not spending more time in the hotel. On arrival i was greeted by probably the most courteous receptionist i have come across and i have come across 100's.
The room was immaculate, warm and welcoming. But be warned, you won’t want to get out of the beds (the most comfortable hotel bed ever)

I have to say, there was not one thing i could find to complain about... Even the parking was cheap as chips for a city centre hotel.
Highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bizey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
As you can imagaine I was delighted to read your comments, thank you. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

We booked three rooms for a family weekend. Booking was easy and the rooms were situated on the same floor. Whilst check in was not until 2 we were able to get our rooms earlier (although the reception staff were a bit grumpy about this!). We had to change one room as it was an interconnecting room and noisy...this was however, no issue. Good nights sleep, reasonably priced parking and plentiful breakfast. All in all good value and we'll definitely return if we find ourselves back in Bristol.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lotty84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we certainly look forward to welcoming you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

It is a good hotel and relatively good value. Let us make it better value. Get rid of the mini bar and kettle and instant coffee. We want free internet. Access to a classical music radio station is also required.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellipsisrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is my hope that we will be announcing a change to our internet policy early - mid 2013, once our contract with our current provider comes to an end. In the meantime guests are very welcome to use the two AppleMacs in the lobby free of charge. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed here recently on a business trip, having tried the Hilton Garden Inn just up the road previously. There's not a lot between them really. The Novotel feels more comfortable than the Hilton which has more contemporary (sterile?) feel.
The Novotel rooms are considerably bigger than the Hilton and most have sofa beds. The Novotel also has baths, rather than shower cubicles in the Hilton, although the shower over the bath, while decent, isn't quite as good as the Hilton.
Foodwise I only had breakfast and there's not much to choose between the two, but the Novotel will probably edge it in terms of volume and availability of food.
The one major down-side with the Novotel is that WiFi isn't free like in the Hilton. There are various options available but the best value is €9.90 (8.25ish?) for 24 hours.
On balance I'd probably choose the Novotel in Future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alun R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and naturally I am very pleased that we came out on top! Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

When travelling on business a lot of hotels are very similar but I was really impressed by this hotel. The check in staff were friendly and asked where I would like my room (high or low, front or back) and very efficient. There were also three free internet terminals in reception
My room was very comfortable,clean and bigger than I would have expected. Tea/coffee biscuits/mini bar etc. Only downside was it very warm and the windows didn't open.
Evening food was very nice and reasonably priced, the breakfast was just OK but did have a good choice.
I would say that what made the difference were the staff who provided excellent service and little touches that took this hotel out of the run of the mill class.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisadoeseurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and delighted that our staff made the difference. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Sussex
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is in a good location for business right near the mainlne railway. It is clean relaxing and well appointed and the staff are friendly. It has parking underneath which is vey useful. The rooms are very comfortable - no awful bright colours and wifi/fixed cable internet is provided at a charge.

However, on my last visit the breakfast was well below the standard expected of this grade of hotel. Nearly everyhting cooked had been sitting for too long and was hard or rubbery - you could have built a wall with the scrambled eggs!

There is a large choice of hotels in this area and I will I will think twice about returning when I am next in Bristol, even though I have a loyalty card.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that on this occasion your breakfast fell below your expectations. I firmly believe this was an exception to the rule and sincerely hope that you will allow us the opportunity to demonstrate this to your on your next visit to Bristol. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 38 in Bristol
3,573 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing