We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool UK
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Conveniently located”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Close to Temple Meads railway station, and within walking distance of the floating harbour and central attractions, this is a pleasant, well situated hotel. We occupied an executive room at the end of a corridor and to the rear of the building. The room was not especially large, but was quiet (at least this weekend) and comfortable, and we slept well.There was a shower and bath, together with large bath robes and gowns and the air con was easily adjustable.
Check in (and out) was speedy, and the staff were attentive and eager to please. Breakfast was really good and hot, but the hard-pressed staff could have done with more help on a busy Saturday morning.
Basement car parking cost £10 per day, and could be reached via a lift from reception.
All in all, a decent city centre hotel.

Room Tip: It would appear that executive rooms are located towards the end of corridors, so might be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ornsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    647
    214
    50
    32
See reviews for
345
459
128
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a great quality hotel. The Novotel is located within walking distance of the Bristol city centre, as well as the main train station.

The rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable, and the staff are friendly and willing to help. It lives up to the standard that you would expect from a Novotel hotel.

We stayed for three nights and had a great stay.

One minor complaint is the lack of free internet. This is becoming standard across all hotels internationally, and I would like to encourage Accor/Novotel to join in. Internet is quickly becoming essential for most travellers and there is no need to price gouge guests for the privilege to access it.

I would recommend this hotel to any traveller.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your very positive review, it is always good to know that the efforts of our staff to provide a warm and friendly welcome are appreciated. I have noted your comment about internet and shall pass this to our head office. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Climate Control in the room didn't work. I complained after the first night but the problem wasn't fixed for the second night. The room was far too hot to sleep in comfortably. The staff were friendly enough but didn't appear to know what to do to resolve the issue. I was informed that the chillers had been turned off because of the low temperature outside (cost saving ?), which is great if the room is at a comfortable temperature without air con, which it wasn't. If you pay for a room with climate control that's what you expect regardless of outside weather. Opening the window was not really an option due to drafts and noise.
I have stayed at this hotel before with no problems so this was a disappointing surprise. All other aspects were fine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am very sorry that you found your room uncomfortable and I shall investigate this with my Engineer. I can assure you however that it is certainly not the case that the chillers have been turned off to save on costs. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were so pleased to have chosen this hotel for our weekend break to Bristol. We had both of our children with us 7 and 4 and not all hotels are as geared up for small children as this one. All the staff were helpful and welcoming, especially in the restaurant and bar. The reception area has an Xbox, games, books and PC's that children and adults can use. The room was clean and had the sort of floor where you can't hear footsteps from above or from your own children!! The walk into Bristol centre was about 10-15 mins, car parking was underneath the hotel charged at the end of your stay for £10 per 24 hours. I would recommend this hotel for families with children.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
I was delighted to read your comments as we do aim to be the most family friendly hotel in Bristol. Thank you! We hope you will choose to stay with us again. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed just one night here on Saturday. I was on a stressful course and I rang ahead to ask for a quiet room. All taken care of and we had a comfortable, quiet and relaxing night. Room very large, breakfast a bargain at £8 each. Staff really helpful and gave a late check out with no fuss. Car parking reasonably priced for city centre. Room a bit too warm but with a quiet room at the back we just opened the window. Novotel offer a consistent product at a brilliant price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your comments and I am glad that we were able to satisfy your requests, we look forward wo welcoming you again. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is the 4th time I have stayed at this hotel for a short break whilst visiting my daughter at university, and it is always pleasant and comfy. It is a good location and only a short walk to the old centre of Bristol and not much further to Cabot Circus. The rooms are always clean and the beds are comfy. The staff are very good but the only thing that let them down this time was the breakfast. It wasn't very hot and even the coffee was cold. Although it was replaced I do not think it should have been served like that in the first place. We went to breakfast at 9.00am on a Sunday Morning so it wasn't late. No bowls for cereals or fruit, no milk and very little hot food choice. I will go again but i hope the breakfast impoves as it is not cheap.

Room Tip: I think they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa56120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for atking the time to post your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please accept my apologies for the poor service at breakfast on this occasion, we wilwork hard to ensure this does not happen again. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed for two nights over the weekend with our toddler. Location good, short pleasant walk into the old centre of Bristol and to the shopping centres. Hotel nice, modern decor, spacious room, very clean everywhere & very quiet. Didn't hear any noise at all from other guests or street noise. Very helpful receptionist did move us to a quiet room at the back of the hotel on the top floor when we checked in and she saw we had a toddler with us. She also gave our daughter a little toy watch as a present which was a nice touch. We were also provided with an extra towel & a blanket to make the cot base softer on request. Breakfast was nice, lots of choice and good service. Check out was very quick with no queues despite signs up saying it would be busy. Overall impressed with our stay & would book a Novotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julles101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for yourkind comments, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,626 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing