We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just perfect for a conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Bristol Centre
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Just perfect for a conference”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Great location for a conference within walking distance of Temple Meads and free parking for those that may come by car. The conference area is self contained in one area away from the main reception and bar of the hotel. The conference rooms worked well and the staff were attentive and reactive. We wanted to move stuff around a bit and they were straight there. The refreshments were out on time and the food was perfectly pleasant. We stayed the night before (Sunday) and the hotel was quiet which suited us very well. We ate in the bar and all was good. The bedrooms are entirely functional and clean - which all you need when you're staying for only one night. We use the Novotel in Euston Road, London for meetings (recently changed name to Pullman). I like the brand and we'll use them again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we are delighted that you found the Novotel Bristol to be a good venue for your conference. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    622
    206
    47
    31
See reviews for
326
436
128
348
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We just have stayed 2 nights in this hotel for visiting my son who is studying in Bristol. I booked a room via hotels's site mostly because to the proximity to my son's apartment. I have paid 81.00GBP with no breakfast. The room was clean and nice, but if you open the sofabed you can't walk...In the first morning, as we were very tired we took breakfast at the hotel; but is kind of overpriced (13.99GBP). There are a lot of options nearby where you can eat better and cheaper. Also, the hotel parking was charged 15GBP/night, which I think is too much since other hotels charge half of that. I think the worst in this hotel was the staff: completely useless. Every time we seek some kind of help, the result was frustrating, not to say annoying. In the next times we'll go to Bristol, we certainly stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariamala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, I am very sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. Firstly may I confirm that our overnight parking charge is £10 and I would also like to point out that our breakfast inclusive rates, which are always available, offer a significant discount on the price of breakfast. I am very concerned about your comments regarding our staff; if you would care to contact me at tim.howes@accor.com I would be very grateful to learn more about how we failed to respond to your requests. This feedback would be very useful as we are naturally constantly aiming to improve our service. Thank you, Tim Howes General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

One night business stay over a weekend. Easy walk from Bristol Temple Meads Station in the centre of town. Its probably no different to any Novotel anywhere in Europe so I only really judged it on the room, breakfast and service. All were perfectably acceptable. a very functional hotel....nothing special but certainly nothing wrong with the place. It does what it says on the tin !! I would use it again for a cheap and cheerful one night stopover in Bristol

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank applethug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us, we hope to wlecome you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Stayed just for one night with my husband and daughter in superior queen room with sofa bed. The hotel was good, clean and in a good central location. Decor was uninspiring particularly in bedroom. The sofabed was made up and ready for use once unfolded, it was a bit hard but my daughter didn't complain. Shower worked well. Plenty of tea and coffee supplies in room.

The service was helpful at reception, providing a map and directions to nearby restaurant. Housekeeping provided extra towel first thing in the morning when asked. Breakfast was very good and was half price for adults and free for children under 16. Bar service was good, bit expensive as usual in hotel bar, we didn't eat in the restaurant.

There was a faint smell of smoke when we first entered the bedroom but didn't notice it later and didn't complain.

As usual broadband was chargeable although there is free use of 2 PCs in reception area.
It was very handy having a car park at the hotel, we were able to remain parked after check-in

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D0rsetDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It was great to read your positive comments, thank you. I am very pelased in particular that you found our reception team helpful. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for work , so didn't have to pay for room or breakfast. Good job too having seen advertised price! Room was funtional, clean and uninspiring. No water pressure so shower rubbish and took ages to fill kettle. Breakfast was fine, but would not want to pay £14 for it! Then the extras - parking £10 a day, Internet - wifi had €19 for 10 hrs of use or you could pay £10 a day for broadband. Only this came as a package with "adult" content. I have never, and will never pay for porn so no broadband for me. Dinner had limited choices, especially as I can't eat peppers/ spices. Sadly, I almost certainly will stay here again. But never would I pay to stay here. Certainly not the over £100 per night rack rate! All in all , I felt like I was staying in a very expensive travelodge, only they don't charge for parking!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pikupiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comment following your stay. I regret that not everything was to your satisfaction and I shall certainly work hard to improve those areas you mention. I am pleased to report that we are undertaking work to pressurize our water system within the next few weeks. I would like to correct on a couple of points however. The charges for WiFi start at 1.50 Euros for 30 minutes. The 19 euro charge you mention is in fact a unlimited pass valid for 30 days. There is also a 10 hour pass also vaid for 30 days available, at 15 euros. I would also like to point out that the charge for residents' parking at the Bristol Centre Travelodge is £7.50. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Novotel Bristol is certainly not worth its 4 stars. Shabby out-dated decor and furniture; rock hard bed; and limited Sky channels. Saving grace was the breakfast.

Disappointed and wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am naturally disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Agnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is very close to Templemeads station - maybe a 5 minute walk.

Efficient check-in and good sized clean room in line with other similar hotels of this type.

Perennial gripe about Broadband access. Probably only needed it for a couple of hours and yet the cost at most hotels seems to be what you pay for a month's Broadband at home.

Restaurant food was good - guinea fowl was excellent - and bar prices OK.

Gym kit pretty new & was very quiet.

Would happily stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggiehols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimHowes, General Manager at Novotel Bristol Centre, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Tim Howes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
3,465 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol City Centre
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Holland House Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Bristol Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Bristol Centre

Property: Novotel Bristol Centre
Address: Victoria Street, Bristol BS1 6HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Bristol
#7 Family Hotel in Bristol
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#11 Business Hotel in Bristol
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Bristol Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel is in the heart of Bristol centre ideal for both the leisure and business traveller with FREE WIFI throughout the hotel. Its just a short stroll from Bristol Temple Meads Railway station and also offers on-site payable car parking for up to 140 vehicles the perfect location. Shopping, bars, restaurants, night clubs and the majority of the city's attractions are all within easy reach by foot. The hotel offers event space over seven rooms for up to 200 people. Take time to relax in the comfortable bar & restaurant where you can sip your favourite tipple and enjoy casual dining. For the health conscious, In Balance offers a well equipped gym with a sauna and steam room. Bristol Airport is a short drive away in a Taxi or alternatively, jump on the Airport Express Bus which stops right outside the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Bristol Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Bristol Centre Hotel Bristol
Accor Bristol Centre
Bristol Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing