We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh, dear what a disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Salvatore's Kitchen - CLOSED

Salvatore's Kitchen
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Salvatore’s Kitchen is for everybody to experience real Italian family food and everything that goes with it - sharing with family and friends and enjoying fresh food made using the best quality ingredients.We want to create an atmosphere where you can bring your loved ones to relax and enjoy affordable, authentic Italian dishes - dishes that have been passed down through generations.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Oh, dear what a disappointment”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Having been regular visitors to Amici we were looking forward to our first visit to this restaurant.

Yes, it is much improved in decor, the menu is very reasonably priced, but the pizza I ordered had a very hard crust, the topping came nowhere near the edge and frankly could have been any taste you care to mention.

NEVER ever have I been to a restaurant that serves screw-top wine - we all know, and accept the mark-up such restaurants puts on wine but the bottle we received was very 'supermarket'.

Disappointed, maybe will give it one more go on a Monday when it is BOGOF and see how it goes.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Clucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    20
    18
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutly AMAZING!”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

im 20 and came here with my boyfriend tonight, it was absolutly gorgeous the food was sooooo good! the people were amazing and the way theyve done it out inside is spectacular, honestly really good, tasty, value, the list goes on, this restaurant deserves so much more credit!!!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank BrisLoverr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A gem of an Italian”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

My husband and I don't tend to eat out at Italian restaurants often, preferring the array of other international restaurants in Bristol instead but we thought we'd give Salvatore's a try. We're really glad that we did and are really pleased that we now have a favourite Italian alongside our favourite Thai, Chinese, Indian etc..! The decor was fantastic and felt really welcoming and relaxing, service was fantastic, quick and attentive and the food was brilliant. Be warned against having a big lunch on the day you go as portions are very generous (esp. starters.) I had the tricolour bruschetta which was delicious but a fun idea to have the 3 types, and then seafood pasta for a main which was also very tasty. Unfortunately too full for dessert but we'll definitely go again and there were so many delicious sounding dishes on the menu to try. Really good music and ambiance too! Thanks for a brilliant meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank cloudnine83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Formerly Amici's, this warm friendly Italian has absolutely everything you could want. The staff were incredibly attentive and offered us extra garlic dough balls for waiting (although it was only a few minutes before a waiter took our order). We had two starters, mains and drinks, and it came to a very reasonable £30, and we left VERY full.
The food was outstanding, proper hearty Italian grub, with big portions. The staff were fantastic, and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. This new Italian eatery is highly recommended!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank HBGeeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol U.K
Level Contributor
132 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great new Italian restaurant in Bristol”
Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

Went in as bored on the last day of Easter holidays. It was raining outside but we still wanted to try this new place. To our surprise the welcome and the ambience was warm on this cold evening. The staff excellent and even the food superb. The seafood pizza with no cheese really tasty. The bill was reasonable. We met the owner and he was real nice guy. Proud to have a place like this near our residence.

Helpful?
7 Thank ABDULGANI_ISMAIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salvatore's Kitchen also viewed

Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing