We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant tour” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Walking Bristol

Walking Bristol
Ranked #11 of 47 Tours in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Walking Bristol run Free walking tours of Bristol, a stroll through Bristol's past. Tours run Tuesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays. Starting at 11am from the statue of Queen Victoria, outside the Royal Marriott hotel on Park street in the city centre. We run for 3 hrs with a stop for lunch at Pieminister. You'll meet pirates, see Banksy artwork, hear about Brunel, learn the dark legacy of the slave trade and wrap it all up with the greatest adventure Bristol has to tell, the story of John Cabot.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Despite the rain, we spent a fun and informative few hours exploring bits of Bristol we'd never been to after nearly a year of uni! Guide really knew his stuff; was full of quirky stories and enthusiasm. Not just obvious sights (Wills Memorial Building, Christmas Steps etc) but also lesser known places and their anecdotes featuring pirates, Banksy and a statue of a dog that I'd never noticed before. Recommended for students, tourists, or anyone spending time in Bristol.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Hi there,
Glad you enjoyed the tour. Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    16
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simon P”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A brilliant introduction to the sights and stories of Bristol past and present. Plenty of chance to ask questions and pause for food and drink during a relaxing walk around the city with a well-informed and enthusiastic guide who brings the surroundings to life.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for your support. Hope you continue to make the most of Bristol.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

The tour was great - informative, fun, funny, showed you all the main sights that are within walking distance of each other in Bristol city centre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for your support. Hope you continue to make the most of Bristol.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
110 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very interesting City to visit and walk around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

An interesting surprise which is and excellent choice if you plan to visit the surroundings. There is a comfortable parking in the pricipal mall of the city, with plenty of space to leave you car. Excellent prices if you plan to buy. I would recommend Primark and Marks and Spencer. After that a walk along the river until you arrive to the Old City and Docks. Also nice place to visit is Queen Square. If you happen to be in time (40mins approx.) you can take a ferry so as to have an idea from the river of the city. Don´t forget to visit the ex Exchange Market (beatiful!).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wright3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Great, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience. Come and say hi next you are back in Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

A friend and I went on the Walking Bristol tour after we had finished our university exams. I was a bit concerned that 3 hours 'walking' might be a bit much but it could't have been a more relaxing. The walking bits were leisurely and there were plenty of opportunities to stop and even sit down!
I'm a history student but my friend isn't and we both enjoyed it so it works for people with all levels of interest, and knowledge of Bristol. Even though we'd been to lots of the places that we visited before, it was brilliant to get some insider knowledge about places that I walk past all the time.
Our guide was friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable - he answered all my questions! And the lunch stop at Pieminister was so good that I went back the following week!
Well worth doing, especially because it's free!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank histubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James B, Manager at Walking Bristol, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Great, thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed the experience. Come and say hi next you are back in Bristol.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Walking Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing