We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still an excellent place to stay, but..........”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 30, 2011

I've been staying st this hotel on and off for over 10 years and its our favourite Hotel du Vin Hotels. Good reception, excellent bar, fine Bistro Dining and an eclectic wine list. Bedrooms and bed linen superb. Recent addition of secondary glazing and a 'airconditioning' system will have solved some of the early bedroom problems of road noise and summer sunshine.

But all the French waiters and waitresses who added to the 'du vin' touch have disappeared and replaced by staff from the east of the EU - who are just not that comfortable with the service industry nor trained up to the level of the French (the Brits often have the same problem by the way). I suspect that the French don't like our 'minimum wage' levels - or maybe they prefer thier 35 hour week?

It was also noticable that general maintenance and bathroom cleaning is not quite up to previous standards. Bathroom toileteries are not so generous and the nice thick cut marmalade is now the cheaper jelly version .......

If this is a result of the MWB Group Chairman's comments last year when he reported that 'the company as a whole was continuing to cut costs' then that is a shame - but it frequently happens when accountants rather than hoteliers run hotels! Or maybe it wasthe fear of breaking Banking covenants.

You have to work hard to retain the accolades of a luxury boutique hotel - cutting costs need to be done with a caution!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Longey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,088 - 1,094 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2011

The hotel is a a fantastic conversion of an old mill set right in the centre of Bristol. It is very handy for the docks, Park Street and the newly built Cabot Circus.

My partner and I were celebrating our anniversary in Bristol and the hotel, the food and the staff all combined to make it a fantastic stay.

The room was enormous and featured a queen size bed, oversized free standing bath tub and walk through monsoon shower. The bedding was really luxurious, the bath robes big and fluffy and we even got to take away the Hotel du Vin branded toiletries!

We ate in the restaurant on the Friday night. The atmosphere in the restaurant is relaxed and unfussy, the food is honest, hearty French cuisine and the wine list as extensive as you'd expect.

What made the stay really exceptional however was the staff. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel welcome and to make our anniversary truly special.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ourhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

I have lived in Bristol for 7 years and have always been aware of the hotels unrivalled reputation. A special occasion was a perfect excuse to book a room...

First impression - The hotel is in a beautiful and respectful warehouse conversion. The courtyard really is a beautiful greeting; this was continued when we opened the door to find an open fire next to the check in desk. It was roaring away in an original brick hearth and chimney. The check in was very streamlined and quick. The member of staff very helpful and asking all the relevant questions. We opted to find our own room and have an explore. You cross through the bar to get to the lift; the bar was just beautiful. Original slate flooring, open fires and low leather sofas; the lighting was perfect for the impression they are trying to create.

Room - We had booked the 'Veuve Cliquot' room. Listed on the website as a large loft room with mezzanine level, chapel facing. The room was beautiful. Downstairs there was a huge oversized bed, reclining sofa and a sitting room with leather sofa's and desk seperated y heavy curtains. There was 2 TV's in the room. A normal sized TV facing the bed and a 50" (if not bigger) TV in the seperate sitting room. Generally I would think that this would be too big but it was set out of sight of the rest of the room and perfectly placed. Upstairs was mind blowing! A huge monsoon shower which was the best shower I've ever experienced in a hotel room. There were also 2 roll top baths set in the middle of the hardwood floor next to each other with just enough room for a champagne cooler! My partner is cabin crew and it was still the best hotel room we have both stayed in. Including 5* hotels around the world. The room had all the amenities needed including fresh coffee and milk and a cafetiere. Just perfect.

Sleep Quality - This bed is by far the most comfortable bed we have both had in a hotel. It's very big and just firm enough to support your spine. The linen is beautiful. We slept like babies! People have written about injuries to their shins, etc. To be honest, I got up in the night more than once and just remembered to step over the bed frame; unless you have no memory and forget you're not at your own home this is not a problem. The room had windows looking over a chapel next door. We did not hear any traffic noise once we'd fallen asleep. The heavy curtains covering the windows and sitting area may have provided some insulation. I read a few reviews where people were reccommending that the hotel owners install double glazing; short sightedness was what came to mind in those cases. If you choose to stay in a listed building hotel you should expect windows and exterior facings not being up to modern building standards; these aspects can not be changed under the regulations. To my mind uPVC windows would not be a welcome addition to such a beautiful building.

Breakfast - The quality of the food was very high indeed. It was beautiful. Locally sourced ingredients for the cooked breakfasts and a rustic bread basket. Freshly squeezed orange juice, pastries, everything you could want. The restaurant is a beautiful setting to enjoy such a nice start to the day.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat. I read a few reviews before i booked but paid little attention. I'm so glad I did as this hotel was beautiful. Negativities from picky people should not be in your mind as you walk into this hotel; it'll only ruin your stay. Sit back and enjoy...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed here for a special treat, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The rooms had charm and we beautifully presented (and very large!). It definitely felt like a special treat to stay there! (We did not eat in so cannot comment on the food and service)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromthestreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Had a fabulous stay in Freixenet large king size room. Bed lovely and comfortable with Hugh thread count linen. Had a few bruised shins from the extra wide wooden bed surround. Only really negatives though are the lack of parking, the see through bathroom doors (no
one wants to be that familiar!) and slightly noisy plumbing but none of these were enough to make this anything but an enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanster123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

My husband and I were invited here for a business evening and decieded to stay overnight. We are in the hospitality trade and are usually critical of other organisations. However, our short stay at this establishment was a great experience due to the fantastic staff. From the girls on the desk, who could not have been more helpful. The waiting staff from those serving canapes to those in the resturant and bar could not have been more friendly. The kitchen staff were obliging (we eat late - way after they should have stopped serving) through to the cheerful staff at five o'clock in the morning. They all came across as intelligent and highly professional. Along with an excellent room, the whole experience was an absolute pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monty075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel du Vin Bristol for a luxury birthday weekend for my wife. The loft suite I'd booked as a surprise, was unfortunately unavailable due to an electrical fault, so we stayed in a studio suite on the Friday night. The General Manager called me earlier on Friday to advise me of the last minute room change and offered us the Hotel's best suite for the Saturday night at no additional cost. This was an extra special treat and more than made up for the Friday night's disappointment.

We ate breakfast in the Bistro on both mornings and dined in the Bistro on the Friday evening and can say that the choice is excellent and very good quality.

The only slight problem was on the Saturday night, the guests in room next door decided to have a shower at 03:00 in the morning and due the proximity of the drainage woke us up. We mentioned this to the staff and they advised they would be looking into to it.

However, this will not prevent us from returning to this wonderful hotel.

We will definitely be back again soon

Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Jamwoodywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 39 in Bristol
3,683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bristol Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Bristol City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range: $151 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing