We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Regency Bristol Hotel
Ranked #41 of 53 Bristol B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 13, 2012

stayed at this hotel for three nights on buisness course in bristol.stumbled across the hotel by mistake and glad i did.Arrived late about 9-30pm and the girl on reception could not have been more helpfull.Next morning i met ithink was the manageress and she too was very pleasant and helpfull.IN fact evry one was pleasant from the bar staff to the girl in the breakfast area.I informed the manageres about my shower not working and she had it fixed straight away and couldnt be more appologetic.i didnt eat at night there because i was eating out with my son who lives in bristol.The hotel was comfortable and clean what more could you ask for.Its close to bristol city centre about £7 for a taxi,5mins to whiteladies road for all the resteraunts and 10 mins walk to clifton village with all the resteraunts.All in all i would recommend this hotel ive stopped in nearby hotels before for more money and not half as good

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryhammond1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
There are newer reviews for The Regency Bristol Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 289 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2012

(Newly refurbished Feb 2012.) You never really know what to make of small independent hotels - especially when there are no Tripadvisor reviews available. First things first - a fantastic nights sleep on one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. We stayed on a Saturday night and it was very quiet. You will notice the warnings for hotels in Bristol that Saturday nights can be noisy. No problem here and we were at the front of the hotel. On the other end of the scale parking. The web site says "on street parking". My recommendation here is that if you do come by car plan to park in the West End multi-storey car park IF by chance you get a space near the hotel that is a bonus. We found out later that there is a car park nearby but we could not easily get to it due to road works. Opening window in shower room (no noisy fan great!). Brilliant breakfast - great value 20% off for hotel stayers. Odd to get tea by teabag in large mug but hey great value. We did not get the chance to try the Transylvanian restaurant.

Room Tip: Our top floor room at the front of the hotel was quiet. VERY small corridors and stairs so minimise...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aowenwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2008

This Hotel would be reasonable if they were charging £35 per night rather than the £89 we paid. Room was small, grubby and up a lot of stairs. Breakfast was not good, bar was not welcoming with loud TV etc. Only positive is the location really since its very near the centre of Bristol.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jami72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2008

There are very few hotels in this part of Bristol and those that are around all seem to be about the same. The room was a garret with peeling pink paint about six flights of stairs up from the lobby, with no elevator. Speaking of pink, the two chairs in the room are pink velvet with filthy seats and chair legs that are no more than 12 inches long that were probably bought at the Alice-in-Wonderland garage sale. There is a tiny window that only opens about three inches and does not close completely. leaving the room always stuffy (no AC, of course). No Internet, although there are many wires coming from the TV that does not work. There’s traffic passing below, along with the loud drunkards coming out of the bar across the street in the wee hours. The walls are paper thin. No shower, just a bath, but it comes with soap and shampoo. An English breakfast is included, although you have to tolerate the TV news that’s been turned up to the sound level of an airplane takeoff. But it’s reasonably clean and maybe I’ll never have to come back to this town. And once again, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaTraveler7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2007

Due to the Rugby World Cup match in Cardiff this was I believe the last room available in Bristol for the 6th October...and it showed. One bedside lamp had no bulb in it, the shade was missing and the fitting was hanging from the wall, the cover of a surface mounted electrical socket was not attached properly and live wiring could be seen, the bedside shelf on one side had been broken off completely leaving the screws sticking out of the wall, one of the curtains was falling off the rail, the shower leaked over the floor, the top of the writing desk was pitted and stained. The room itself was in the basement and could only be accessed by steep stairs without a proper handrail. At £80 extremely poor value and we were glad to get out the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank elfriede99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2007

Front desk member of staff accomodating, however as for the rest of it pretty old fashioned and grotty. Had to make do with a smoking room for the night and felt like i had smoked all night in the morning. I advise getting booked in early at the Ibis for about the same price, which was £85 incidentally - steep for what it was. Rating 2/10.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank Jools79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Portland
313
Reviewed July 6, 2005

How can a dumpy place in Bristol command this price?
Bathroom tub did not have shower head or curtain - not conducive for business traveller.

Stayed: June 2005
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.3 mi away
Victoria Square Hotel
Victoria Square Hotel
#28 of 39 in Bristol
546 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#29 of 39 in Bristol
698 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Clifton Hotel
The Clifton Hotel
#35 of 39 in Bristol
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rodney Hotel
The Rodney Hotel
#31 of 39 in Bristol
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Berkeley Square Hotel
The Berkeley Square Hotel
#32 of 39 in Bristol
578 reviews
0.4 mi away
Berkeley Square House
Berkeley Square House
#18 of 53 in Bristol
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Regency Bristol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Regency Bristol Hotel

Address: 40-44 St. Pauls Road, Bristol BS8 1LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bristol
Price Range: $76 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Regency Bristol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Regency Bristol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing