We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good venue”
Review of Colston Hall

Colston Hall
Ranked #43 of 206 things to do in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“good venue”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

good venue for mainly music & comedy, second largest venue in Bristolk after Hippodrome, old fashioned hall with good acoustics but now has large and modern foyer with a couple of bars and eateries, which a nice start to an event.

Helpful?
Thank JaneyC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    114
    59
    39
    19
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Decent acts but uncomfortable”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It's nice that Bristol is starting to get some decent acts, however I have never been so uncomfortable in my life whilst watching a show! The seats are horrible and it's like a sauna, quite disappointed really,

Helpful?
1 Thank Griff84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would benefit from renovation”
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Entrance is great but the main hall looks a little tired and would benefit from renovation

Helpful?
1 Thank lad_v_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Wonderful lobby area, shame money ran out before effective air con could be installed”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Went to see Billy Connolly last night - absolutely no complaints about him.
This is the first time we have been to Colston since the new entrance lobby area was opened and it has been done very well - lots of space, clean, fresh and certainly last night very " buzzy". New seats appear to have been installed in the auditorium so they are cleaner but still uncomfortable and very cramped. It was soooo hot in there that I thought I might pass out. Surely in this day and age effective air conditioning can be installed. I only used the toilets on my exit - big mistake - they are dire. Surely Dulux or someone could sponsor some paint to do them up. Just like going to an outside pub loo about 25 years ago!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great venue - shame about the 'public' areas”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

You can't fault the hall as a venue for music/comedy/dance etc, but please, please can someone provide some extra seating in the public areas? There's a great cafe/restaurant and a separate bar area but the bar only has a couple of sofas and stools and that's about your lot. There is plenty of space to put in some additional chairs or benches but it's kept artistically light and airy and hundreds of people were left milling about with nowhere to sit before the show. Having not been to the hall for a number of years we made the mistake of leaving the harbourside a good hour or so before the show so we could get a drink beforehand. Once bitten, twice shy, I'm afraid. The next time we'll stay at the harbourside until it's almost "curtain up" time and spend our money on pre-show drinks there instead. Such a shame!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colston Hall also viewed

 

Been to Colston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing